Monday May 25, 2015
Custom Search

Final Boxtorow HBCU Football Top 10 Coaches Poll
Onnidan's HBCUSports | Final Boxtorow HBCU Football Top 10 Coaches Poll

Coaches pick UAPB #1 in Final Poll

Boxtorow.comBox To Row

After claiming is first-ever SWAC championship outright, the Arkansas-Pine Bluff Golden Lions finish the season No.1 in the Boxtorow national coaches’ poll.

The Golden Lions came from behind to defeat Jackson State 24-21 in overtime in the SWAC Championship game in Birmingham, AL on Saturday. The Golden Lions came back down 21-7 in the second quarter to force overtime and won the championship on a Tyler Strickland 26-yard field goal.

UAPB has not lost a game since falling 40-13 to Tennessee State on September 29 in Nashville. The Golden Lions have won seven-straight games and finish atop the coaches’ poll for the first time since Boxtorow began administering the poll in 2009.

UAPB received nine of 15 first place votes.

MEAC champion Bethune-Cookman, who was No. 1 for a majority of the season, finished No. 2 and ended the season with a 24-14 loss to Coastal Carolina in the first round of the FCS playoffs on November 24.

The Wildcats received the other six first place votes.

The Tennessee State Tigers, who defeated both UAPB and Bethune-Cookman, finished No. 3. The Tigers started the season 7-0 but lost three of their last four.

Jackson State, who started the season off 2-4 and rebounded to win five-straight to propel itself to the SWAC title game, finished No. 4.

The North Carolina A&T Aggies finished tied for third in the MEAC and rounds out the top five.

Alabama State is No. 6, while the Howard Bison who made a two-game improvement from last year is No. 7. Alabama A&M, Delaware State and North Carolina Central finished Nos. 8 – 10.

The Boxtorow HBCU FCS coaches’ poll is administered by FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW and is voted on by the HBCU Football Championship Subdivision coaches.

Final 2012 Boxtorow FCS HBCU Football Coaches Poll
(Records through December 8, 2012)

Rank School W-L Pts. Previous
1. Arkansas-Pine Bluff (9) 10-2 143 2
2. Bethune-Cookman (6) 9-3 137 1
3. Tennessee State 8-3 121 3
4. Jackson State 7-5 93 4
5. North Carolina A&T 7-4 79 6
6. Alabama State 7-4 74 5
7. Howard 7-4 70 7
8. Alabama A&M 7-4 51 8
9. Delaware State 6-5 28 9
10. North Carolina Central 6-5 26 10

Others receiving votes: Mississippi Valley State (5-6) 3.

Boxtorow National HBCU Football Champions (Coaches) Year-by-year
2012 Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2011 Norfolk State
2010 Bethune-Cookman
2009 South Carolina State


Extensions by Siteground Web Hosting