Onnidan Online Logo

American Urban Radio Networks Announces 2004 SBN Black College All-American Team

December 30, 2004

(Pittsburgh, PA,) – American Urban Radio Networks has announced the members of the 2004 SBN Black College All-American (BCAA) Team. Among this year’s All-American Team members are seven players who are returning honorees from the 2003 team, including the offensive and defensive players of the year.

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) led the way with nine players selected as members of the 2004 SBN Black College All-American Team.

Tennessee State University running back Charles Anthony was named the SBN/Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year. Anthony was also named Ohio Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year, as selected by the conference's head coach and sports information directors. Norfolk State University linebacker Kevin Talley was named the SBN/Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year. Talley lead Norfolk State, the MEAC and Division 1-AA in total tackles per game. Albany State’s, James “Mike” White was named SBN/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year. In five seasons White has rebuilt the Golden Rams football program and placed it at the top of the ranks of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC).

Charles Anthony, Tennessee State University, SBN/Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year – The 5’11”, 190 senior running back from Orlando, Florida rushed for 1,739 yards on 306 attempts, averaging 5.7 yards a carry. He scored 14 rushing touchdowns and had 39 pass receptions for 318 yards and two touchdowns.

Kevin Talley, Norfolk State, SBN/Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year – The 6’0”, 230 senior linebacker from Newport News, Virginia led his team, conference and all 1-AA players with 135 tackles. He was also 4th in the nation in solo tackles with 58 and recorded 9 tackles for loss, 3 sacks and 3 forced fumbles.

James “Mike” White, Albany State University, SBN/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year – The Augusta, Georgia native led the Golden Rams to an 11-1 overall record and 10-0 regular season. Albany State was the only undefeated Black college team during the 2004 regular season.

The 2004 SBN All-American Team, along with the SBN/Jake Gaither Black College National Champions, the Hampton Pirates, and the SBN/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, will be honored during the 31st SBN Black College All-American Awards gala to be held on Saturday, February 19, 2004 at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia.

SBN Sports 2004 Black College All-American Team
QB Bradshaw Littlejohn Morgan State 63 - 260 Senior
RB Derrick Wimbush Fort Valley State 62 - 220 Senior
Charles Anthony Tennessee State 511 - 190 Senior
WR Kelvin Dickens Morgan State 63 - 200 Junior
Charlie Spiller Alcorn State 511 - 181 Sophomore
TE Edward Harper Albany State 62 - 237 Junior
OL Jelani Clement Hampton 62 - 310 Senior
Myniya Smith Southern 67 - 340 Senior
Rodney Magwood Albany State 63 - 346 Senior
Carey Nagel Alabama State 63 - 280 Senior
Ricardo Phillips North Carolina Central 65 300 Senior
PK Andrew Paterini Hampton 60 - 205 Sophomore
DL Jordan Brumbaugh Tuskegee 64 - 262 Senior
Walter Curry Albany State 64 - 268 Senior
Micah Littlejohn Hampton 63 - 255 Junior
Kenneth Pettway Grambling State 64 - 255 Senior
LB Kevin Talley Norfolk State 60 - 225 Senior
Justin Durant Hampton 62 - 235 Sophomore
Chris Peavy Shaw 62 - 235 Senior
DB Nick Collins Bethune-Cookman 511 - 188 Senior
Antoine Bethea Howard 510 - 175 Junior
Ahmad Treaudo Southern 60 - 190 Senior
Walt Williams Fayetteville State 60 - 175 Senior
P Eric Hernandez Prairie View 510 - 185 Sophomore

Offensive Player of the Year
Coach of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year
Charles Anthony
Mike White
Kevin Talley


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index
Sponsored Links
Buy a Link Now