Onnidan Online Logo

NSU's Hicks heads MEAC All-Conference Selections

March 9, 2005

RICHMOND, Va. – Guard Chakowby Hicks of Norfolk State was selected as the 2005 Mid-Eastern Athletic conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, as voted by the leagues’ Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors. Hampton University Head Coach Bobby Collins was selected by his peers as the 2005 Coach of the Year. Coppin State’s Darryl Proctor, the early season favorite, earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Hicks is ranked among the league leaders in points (5th, 14.5 ppg), rebounds (10th 16.1 rpg), assists (2nd 3.6 apg), and steals (1st 3.5 spg). He won the player of the week award two times this season and has scored 20 or more points on four occasions.

Collins led his team to a second place finish in the MEAC with a conference mark of 13-5. The third year coach met expectations, as the Pirates were selected second in the preseason conference poll. Proctor led all rookies in scoring averaging 13.3 points per game, which ranks 12th in the conference. The second leading scorer for the Eagles, Proctor won the rookie of the week award an outstanding seven times this season.

Joining Hicks on the All-MEAC First Team are Hampton teammates, Devin Green and Bruce Brown, Coppin State’s Nicholas King and South Carolina State forward Thurman Zimmerman.

Four guards led the All-MEAC second team including Raheem Scott (Coppin State), Florida A&M’s Tony Tate, Antonio Webb (Bethune-Cookman) and Morgan State’s Sam Brand. Forward Jahsha Bluntt completes the second team. Bluntt is the only representative on the All-MEAC teams for regular-season champion Delaware State.

The Rookie team consists of Proctor, Hampton forward Adrian Woodard, and guards Tony Murphy (Norfolk State), Derrick Davis (S.C. State) and Cliffone Ault (Howard).

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index
Sponsored Links
Buy a Link Now