Onnidan Online Logo

Former Coaches Headline SCSU Hall of Fame Enshrinees

September 22, 2004

ORANGEBURG, SC - Three former Bulldog coaches will be among 18 inductees into the South Carolina State University Athletics Hall of Fame, Oct.15, beginning at 5:45 p.m. at Smith-Hammond-Middleton Memorial Center. The induction ceremony starts at 7 p.m.

The three coaches among the scheduled enshrinees are Timothy J. Autry, who served as men's head basketball coach from 1973 to 1980, and was Bulldog athletics director seven years (1995-2002); Lyman Foster, who served as women's head basketball coach five seasons (1988-93), and as an women's assistant coach (1974-88) helped the Lady Bulldogs to over 200 victories and a national championship; and Roy "D.D." Moore, head football coach and athletics director in the late fifties (1955-59).

Autry remains at SCSU as an administrator in student services; Foster is currently head women's basketball coach at Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School, while Moore is a retired administrator from North Carolina A&T University.

Also among the inductees are current president, Dr. Andrew Hugine Jr., two recent SCSU retirees - band director Ronald Sarjeant and equipment manager David Smith - and five former football players, among them current Calhoun County High School head football coach Tommy Brown ('78), an SCSU All-American in the late 70s.

Other football players include Rufus Bess ('79), who also earned All-America honors at the university; Harry Hoskins ('64), an all-conference performer in the early 69s; Ervin "Blueprint" Parker ('80), an SCSU All-American who went on to a distinguished professional career, mainly with Buffalo; and Joseph Wynns (64), an All- Conference wide receiver, who also excelled in basketball and track at SCSU.

Others to be enshrined are Rocky Cunningham ('82), a Bulldog track star, who also played football for a couple of seasons; Phil Stephens ('72), All-Conference in basketball and track; Gladys Elmore Summers ('78), two-time All-America in women's basketball; Luis Hines ('85), tennis; Nathaniel Madison ('76), swimming; Edwina Harris Tarte ('89), volleyball; and Henry "Hank" Allen, former award-winning Bulldog mascot.

For tickets and additional information, please call the Sports Information Office (803-536-7060), Athletics (803-536-7242) or the SCSU Foundation (803-536-8722).


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index
Sponsored Links
Buy a Link Now