Onnidan Online Logo

MEAC announces Men's Basketball All-Conference Honors;
Delaware State’s Jahsha Bluntt Earns Player of the Year Accolades

March 7, 2006

RALEIGH, N.C.-The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference announced its 2006 All-Conference Teams on Monday evening at the MEAC Basketball Tournament Tip-off Banquet held at the Embassy Suites.

Delaware State’s Jahsha Bluntt was selected 2006 Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, as voted by the leagues’ Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors. Delaware State’s head coach Greg Jackson earned the 2006 Coach of the Year, as voted on by his peers. Tywain McKee of Coppin State received the 2006 Rookie of the Year, as voted by the conferences’ Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Bluntt was ranked second in the MEAC in 3-point field goal percentage (40.1%) and three-point field goals per game (2.6). He was also ranked in the top five in the conference in free-throw percentage (.768) and the top ten in scoring with 14.7 ppg. He led his team in points per game and in rebounds with 4.7 per game. Bluntt also ranked first on the team in field goal attempts (11.3), field goals made (4.8), 3-pt field goal percentage, 3-point field goals per game, and free-throws per game (2.6).

Jackson, in his sixth season at the helm of Delaware State, led the team to a 16-2 conference record and its second straight MEAC regular season title. The 16 victories are the most in Jackson’s Delaware State career. At one point this season, the Hornets won nine straight MEAC games, which is the second longest winning streak in the MEAC this season behind the Coppin State Lady Eagles.

McKee was ranked fourth in the MEAC in scoring with 15.6 points per game; third in free-throw percentage (.777) and 12th in steals (1.48). McKee received Rookie of the Week honors five times and Player of the Week accolades once this season.

Joining Bluntt on the All-MEAC First Team are Antonio Webb of Bethune-Cookman, Tony Tate of FAMU, and Brian Mason of South Carolina State. Webb’s teammate, center Michael Williams II rounded out the All-MEAC First-Team.

McKee heads the All-MEAC Second Team along with fellow guard Tony Murphy of Norfolk State.

Coppin State’s forward Darryl Proctor, last year’s Rookie of the Year, is on the list along with forwards Tim Parham (UMES) and Jaz Cowen (Hampton).

The 2006 MEAC Rookie Team consists of McKee, teammate, Talmadge Bell and three rookies from UMES, Troy Jackson, Ed Tyson and Jesse Brooks.

The MEAC Basketball Tournament will commence on Tuesday, March 7-11, 2006 at the RBC Center in Raleigh, N.C. Delaware State begins defense of its MEAC Tournament Title on Wednesday, March 8 at 8 p.m.

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
2006 Menís Basketball All-Conference Teams

Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson (Delaware State University)
Player of the Year: Jahsha Bluntt (Delaware State University)
Rookie of the Year: Tywain McKee (Coppin State University)
Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Williams II (Bethune-Cookman College)
Name School Pos Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Antonio Webb Bethune-Cookman G 5-9 160 Sr. Fairfax, Va.
Tony Tate Florida A&M G 5-11 185 Sr. Jersey City, N.J.
Brian Mason S.C. State G 6-4 195 Jr. Dominica, Wis.
Jahsha Bluntt Delaware State G/F 6-6 220 Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Michael Williams II Bethune-Cookman C 6-7 210 Sr. College Park, Ga.
Name School Pos Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Jaz Cowen Hampton F 6-9 235 Jr. Baltimore, Md.
Darryl Proctor Coppin State F 6-4 230 So. District Heights, Md.
Tim Parham UMES F 6-9 240 Sr. Chicago, Illi.
Tywain McKee Coppin State G 6-2 182 So. Philadelphia, Pa.
Tony Murphy Norfolk State G 6-4 220 So. Patterson, N.J.
Tywain McKee Coppin State G 6-2 182 So. Philadelphia, Pa.
Talmadge Bell Coppin State G 6-2 175 Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Troy Jackson Maryland Eastern Shore G 6-3 175 Fr. Wilkes Barre, Pa.
Ed Tyson Maryland Eastern Shore G 6-3 205 Fr. Baltimore, Md.
Jesse Brooks Maryland Eastern Shore G 6-1 170 Fr. Severn, Md.

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index