Onnidan Online Logo

St Aug men and NCCU women capture CIAA All Sports Trophies

May 24, 2006

Durham, NC… The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association presented North Carolina Central University with the Loretta Taylor Women’s All-Sports Trophy and Saint Augustine’s College with the C.H. Williams Men’s All-Sports Trophy at the Annual Coach of the Year Award’s Luncheon, yesterday.

North Carolina Central University was awarded this honor after winning three championships this year; Softball and Women’s Cross Country and Volleyball, while coming in third in two sports Women’s Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field.

St. Augustine’s College also dominated in championship titles this year with top finishes in Men’s Cross Country and Outdoor and Indoor Track and Field Championships. Their three championships, along with exceptional finishes in Football and Baseball, placed them in position for recognition.

The Loretta Taylor All-Sports Women’s Trophy and the C.H. Williams All-Sports Men’s Trophy are determined by a point system established to award an institution for achievement in each of their women’s and men’s programs. The champion is the institution with the most combined total points for all sponsored sports based on their conference finish and the number of CIAA sponsored events.

Kyle Serba, Sports Information Director at North Carolina Central University was awarded the John Holley Sports Information Director Award. Serba served as host SID for a second-round game in the 2005 NCAA Division II Football Playoffs, is the coordinator and occasional announcer for football and basketball game internet broadcasts on the Eagle Sports Network and serves as President of the NCCSIA (North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association).

William “Bill” Hayes of North Carolina Central University and Tonia Walker of Winston-Salem State University were named Athletic Director and Senior Woman Administrator of the Year. Both individuals have made concentrated efforts to maximize the potential of their men’s and women’s programs, while maintaining equality between both programs.

This year’s Jeanette A. Lee Athletic Administration Award was presented to Al Carter of Shaw University for providing extraordinary leadership for the Bears’ Athletic Department.

All Conference Coaches of the Year were formerly given their awards.

Football Michael Costa St. Augustineís
Bowling Diane Boyd Shaw
Volleyball Ingrid Wicker-McCree North Carolina Central
Womenís Cross Country Michael Lawson North Carolina Central
Menís Cross Country Michael Lawson North Carolina Central
Womenís Indoor Track & Field George Williams St. Augustineís
Menís Indoor Track & Field George Williams St. Augustineís
Golf Lavern Jones Elizabeth City State
Menís Tennis Sunday Enitan Shaw
Womenís Tennis Elorine Hill Fayetteville State
Baseball Merrill Morgan Virginia State
Softball Larry Keen North Carolina Central
Menís Outdoor Track & Field George Williams St. Augustineís
Womenís Outdoor Track & Field Marc Harrison Bowie State

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index