Onnidan Online Logo

MEAC announces All-Sports Award Winners

May 24, 2006

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. --– Hampton University won its fifth consecutive Mary McLeod Bethune Women’s All-Sports Award and Norfolk State University captured its second consecutive and third overall Talmadge Layman Hill Men’s Award, the league announced on Wednesday.  Hampton totaled 60.5 points of the possible 96 points, while NSU tallied 67.5 of a possible 84 points.

Each institution will receive a $25,000 check which will be presented at the MEAC Spring Delegate Assembly and Committee Meetings in Virginia Beach on May 25.

Hampton has won seven overall All-Sports Trophies since joining the MEAC in 1996 (winning three men’s trophies, including back-to-back victories in 2003 and 2004, and four women’s awards).  Norfolk State won its first men’s trophy in 2001.

“Once again both Hampton University and Norfolk State University have demonstrated the overall strength of their respective Athletic programs by capturing the MEAC All-Sports Awards,” said Commissioner Dennis Thomas. “I would like to felicitate the Norfolk State and Hampton administrators, coaches, student-athletes and support staff for an outstanding job throughout the course of the year.”

Hampton slipped past second place finisher Florida A&M by 3.5 points. Hampton won both the Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field titles, were tied for second in softball, and finished third in Cross Country and Tennis.

The Lady Rattlers, who also finished second to the Lady Pirates last year, had 56 total points. They also had two championship titles, winning Volleyball and Softball. Howard was a close third with 55.5 points. The Lady Bison captured the Cross Country title to open the 2005-06 season. Delaware State was fourth (55) and Morgan State fifth (53.5).

On the men’s side, Norfolk State completed the Triple Crown in Track and Field, winning Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor titles. The Spartans also finished second in Tennis and Baseball to outscored the closest competitor by 12 points. Florida A&M was also second on the men’s side for the second year totaling 55.5 points. Hampton finished third (52), followed by Bethune-Cookman (45.5) and Delaware State (43.5) to round out the top five.

Points are awarded on a descending basis beginning with 12 points for a championship or first place finish. The second place team receives 10 pts. Tied teams will split the point total.

The Mary McLeod Bethune Award, named after the founder of Bethune-Cookman College, awards the top overall women’s athletic program during the course of one full academic year.  The first Mary McLeod Bethune Award was given in 1987 to Delaware State University.  Florida A&M leads all MEAC schools with nine Women’s Awards from 1993-2000.  The men’s All-Sports Award is named after the late Talmadge Layman Hill, a former player and coach at Morgan State, and former Chairman of the MEAC Steering and Planning Committee, as well as the league’s first President.  Howard University was the recipient of the first Talmadge Layman Hill Award in 1972.   South Carolina State holds the men’s record with 11 awards from 1973-1984.

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index