Onnidan Online Logo

Texas Southern and SC State start tennis title quest this weekend

TSU men and women meet Baylor; SCSU teams face North Carolina

May 9, 2006

Brackets and pairings have been finalized for the 2006 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women's Tennis Championships. First- and second-round competition will be conducted Friday-Saturday or Saturday-Sunday, May 12-13 or 13-14, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships at the Taube Tennis Center in Stanford, California, hosted by the Stanford University.

The women's team championship will be held May 18-22. The men's team championship will be May 20-23.

Teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

SWAC Champion Texas Southern will have its men's and women's teams open play in Waco, TX. The Lady Tigers will face host and Big 12's postseason and regular-season champions Baylor at 6:00pm on Friday, May 12. The Tiger men's team will also face Baylor, regular season Big 12 champs, Saturday, May 13 at 11:00am.

After sweeping the MEAC Championship, South Carolina State's men's and women's team will face North Carolina in Chapel Hill in the opening round. The Lady Bulldogs will meet the #8 ranked Tar Heels at high noon on Friday. The Bulldogs will take on the Tar Heel men, Saturday morning at 9:00am.

First round winners will advance to the regional finals with the women's championship on Saturday afternoon and the men's championship on Sunday.

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index