Onnidan Online Logo

DSU and PVAM women begin playoff quest Sunday

March 12, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- The 64-team field competing for the 2007 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship has been announced by the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee.

Earning No. 1 seeds are Duke University (30-1), University of Tennessee, Knoxville (28-3); University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (30-3); and University of Connecticut (29-3). Duke, Tennessee and Connecticut each won their conference regular season titles in the Atlantic Coast Conference, Southeastern Conference and Big East Conference, respectively, while North Carolina claimed the Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament championship.

Thirty-one conferences including the MEAC and SWAC were granted automatic bids for the 2007 championship. MEAC champion Delaware State was seeded No. 15 in the Greensboro Regional while SWAC champion Prairie View A&M was seeded No. 16 in the Dallas Regional.

First- and second-round games will be played at eight sites Saturday, March 17 and Monday, March 19 and Sunday, March 18 and Tuesday, March 20. The 16, second-round winners will advance to the four regional sites.

DSU will face No. 2 Vanderbilt in East Lansing, MI at noon on Sunday.

PVAM will meet No. 1 North Carolina at 2:30pm Sunday afternoon in Pittsburg.

The Fresno Regional (Save Mart Center, Fresno, California) and the Greensboro Regional (Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, North Carolina) will be Saturday, March 24 and Monday, March 26, while the Dallas Regional (Reunion Arena, Dallas, Texas) and the Dayton Regional (University of Dayton Arena, Dayton, Ohio) will be Sunday, March 24 and Tuesday, March 26. The four regional winners will meet in the NCAA Women’s Final Four, April 1 and 3, at the Quicken Loans Arena (20,704) in Cleveland.


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index