Onnidan Online Logo

Eight HBCUs get D-II basketball playoff berths

March 4, 2007

The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Basketball Committees have announced the field for the 2007 Championships with eight HBCUs getting bids.

CIAA and SIAC champions Elizabeth City State (men), North Carolina Central (women), Albany State (men) and Benedict (women) received automatic qualifications. West Virginia State also earned an automatic qualification as West Virginia Intercollegiate Conference (WVIAC) men's champion. Virginia Union's men, Benedict's men and Elizabeth City State's women received at-large bids.

Women's action begins Friday, March 9 with the men set to start on Saturday, March 10.

NCCU and ECSU's women will play in the South Atlantic region at Morrow, GA. The Lady Eagles, seeded #2, will play Newberry, Friday. The Lady Vikings open their championship quest as the #4 seed and will meet #5 Columbus State.

Benedict is the only SIAC women's team to make the playoffs. The Lady Tigers are seeded #8 in the South Region and will face top-seeded and undefeated Florida Gulf Coast on their home court in Ft. Myers, Florida.

ECSU and VUU's men will be playing in South Atlantic regional tournament in Augusta, GA. The Vikings will face top-seeded Augusta State while the second-seeded Panthers meet Lander

Benedict and SIAC men's champ Albany State will play in the South Region in Montevallo, AL. The third-seeded Tigers will take on Eckerd while eighth-seeded ASU will face Montevallo in the first round.

West Virginia State is seeded #5 in the East Region and will face Alderson-Broaddus, Saturday in Wilson, NC.


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index