Onnidan Online Logo

Lincoln (PA) men capture Div III Indoor Track title

March 10, 2007

Lincoln University won the men's team championship, while Williams College claimed the women's title at the 2007 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships hosted by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology on Saturday.

Lincoln relied on two national title winners to outdistance Wisconsin-La Crosse and Wisconsin-Oshkosh in the men's competition. Sophomore Kenddrick Gibbons won the 55-meter hurdles in a time of 7.37 seconds, while senior Bobby Young captured the 400-meter title in 48.42 seconds to lead the Lions effort.

"We came out strong today, and the kids really made a believer out of me. They worked hard all year and really deserve this. Not many know this, but (Kenddrick Gibbons) fractured his toe three weeks ago and ran through the pain this weekend. He showed us what a true athlete is and inspired our team," said Lincoln head coach Cyrus Jones.

On the women's side, junior Maddy Outman recorded four All-American awards to lead a balanced team effort that included nine All-American honors. Outman recorded a second in the long jump and placed fifth in the 55-meter hurdles and 400-meter dash, then helped the 4-x-400 meter relay team capture an eighth-place finish.

"We were really happy to be able to compete with all these great schools. We were able to place in each event we entered, so it was really a team effort. We want to thank the adminstration and facilities of Rose-Hulman for a great job," said Williams head coach Ralph White.

The fourth national record of the weekend fell in the men's mile, when Will Leer of Pomona-Pitzer topped his own mark with a 4:08.19 to earn his second straight national title. In women's action, Rachel Anderson of Illinois Wesleyan tied the women's 400-meter all-time mark with a 55.46 to earn the victory.

Marcia Taddy of Wisconsin-Platteville paced the Saturday women's effort with a pair of individual national championships. Taddy won the 800-meter run in a time of 2:10.14 and the 1,600-meter run in 4:49.38, after anchoring the team's national record setting distance medley relay on Friday night.

National championships in men's field event competition on Saturday were led by Kevin Clark of Elizabethtown with a leap of 17' 1 1/2" in the pole vault. Bobby Riley of Wisconsin-La Crosse captured the shot put title with a throw of 57' 3". Nick Stanisavljevic of SUNY-Brockport earned the high jump title with a leap of 6' 11". In the triple jump, freshman Kamar James of Fisk won with an effort of 48' 10".

Other men's running event national champions were led by Eddie Bynum of Salem State College with a time of 6.33 in the 55-meter dash. Jimmy O'Brien of Ohio Northern captured the 800-meter run in a time of 1:53.48. Fred Joslyn of SUNY-Cortland won the 5,000-meter run in a time of 14:31.29. In the final event of the day, Wisconsin-La Crosse relied on David Kolbe, John Doble, Jeremy Deterville and Tony Marcinek to defeat Lincoln by .03 seconds to win the 4-x-400 meter relay in a time of 3:16.46.

The women's competition included a pair of field event national champions. Alecia Watson from the City College of New York earned her second national title of the weekend with a leap of 39' 11 1/4". She previously won the long jump on Friday with an effort of 19' 2 1/2". Rachael Clark of Christopher Newport also won the shot put with a throw of 46' 8 1/4".

In women's sprint events, Michelle Barnwell from the City College of New York won the 55-meter dash in a time of 7.04 seconds. The 55-meter hurdle champion was Sumer Rohrs of Frostburg State in a time of 8.09 seconds.

Other women's national champions included the Texas Lutheran 4-x-400 meter relay team of Taffey Gray, Staci Jackson, Ashley Williams and Casey Toombs in a time of 3:52.17. In the 5,000-meter run, Ellen Davis of Wesleyan University earned the national title in a time of 16:43.73.

The event was held at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute, Indiana, marking the fourth NCAA Division III national championship event held at the college.


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index