Onnidan Online Logo

MEAC announces 2006-07 Women's Basketball All-Conference Honors

March 5, 2007

RALEIGH, N.C.-The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced its 2007 All-MEAC awards at the MEAC Tip-Off Basketball Tournament Banquet on Monday evening at the RBC Center in Raleigh, N.C. Coppin State guard Rashida Suber was selected the Player of the Year as voted by the leagues' Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Head Coach Donald Beasley was selected by his peers as the 2007 Coach of the Year, while North Carolina A&T's Ta'Wuana Cook was selected as the Rookie of the Year. Shannon Carlisle was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Suber helped the Lady Eagles win their third consecutive conference title while, setting a new MEAC record by completing the regular season with an 18-0 mark in conference play for the second year in a row. The junior ranks among the top performers in the MEAC in scoring, assists, and three-point field goals made. She is currently second in the nation averaging 3.2 three-point field goals per game, 10th in steals and 26th in points while averaging 19.1 points per game.
Beasley doubled last season's win total while recording their first winning campaign since the 1999-2000 season. In his second year at the helm, Beasley's team opened up conference play with a five-game MEAC win streak and will enter the tournament as the number four seed with a 16-12 overall record and 11-7 mark in MEAC play.

Cook led the MEAC with 4.25 assists per game. She also led her rookie counterparts in scoring (14.5 ppg).
Cook recorded five 20-plus point performances earning Player of the Week honors once and Rookie of the Week accolades twice this season.

Carlisle ranked among the top three in the nation with 3.7 steals per game. She led her team and ranked third in the MEAC with 15.6 points per game.

Coppin State guard Shalamar Oakley joins Suber on the All-MEAC first team along with North Carolina A&T guard Amber Bland, Delaware State guard/forward Raquel Collier, and Howard guard Shannon Carlisle.

The All-MEAC second team consists of Cook, Delaware State forward Katreem Palmer, Rachel Butler of Hampton, Morgan State's Whitney Johnson and North Carolina A&T's Brittanie Taylor-James.

The 2007 MEAC Rookie Team featured North Carolina A&T's Cook, Florida A&M's Marke Freeman and Secrett Anderson, Morgan State guard Corin Adams and forward April McBride.
The MEAC Basketball Tournament will begin on Tuesday, March 6-10, 2007 at the RBC Center in Raleigh, N.C. The women tip-off Tuesday, March 6 at 11 a.m. with #10 Norfolk State taking on #7 Maryland Eastern Shore. Coppin State will attempt to defend its 2006 MEAC title on Wednesday, March 7 at Noon.

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
2007 Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams

Coach of the Year: Donald Beasley, Morgan State University
Player of the Year: Rashida Suber, Coppin State University
Rookie of the Year: Ta'Wuana Cook, North Carolina A&T State University
Defensive Player of the Year: Shannon Carlisle, Howard University

Name School Pos Ht. Cl. Hometown
Rashida Suber Coppin State G 5-8 Jr. Reading, Pa.
Amber Bland North Carolina A&T G 5-10 So. Boardman, Ohio
Raquel Collier Delaware State G/F 5-9 Jr. Schenectady, NY
Shalamar Oakley Coppin State G 5-6 Jr. Camden, NJ
Shannon Carlisle Howard G 5-4 R-Jr. Indianapolis, IN
Name School Pos Ht. Cl. Hometown
Katreem Palmer Delaware State F 6-1 Jr. Jamaica, NY
Rachel Butler Hampton G 5-8 Jr. Dallas, Texas
Ta'Wuana Cook North Carolina A&T G 5-8 Fr. Fayetteville, N.C.
Whitney Johnson Morgan State G 5-9 Sr. Detroit, Mich.
Brittanie Taylor-James North Carolina A&T G/F 6-0 So. Evanston, Ill.
Name School Pos Ht. Cl. Hometown
Ta'Wuana Cook North Carolina A&T G 5-8 Fr. Fayetteville, N.C.
Marke Freeman Florida A&M G 5-4 Fr. Springfield, Ill.
Corin Adams Morgan State G 5-7 Fr. Brooklyn, NY
April McBride Md. Eastern Shore F 6-1 Fr. New Rochelle, NY
Secrett Anderson Florida A&M F 6-1 Fr. Arlington, Texas


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index