Onnidan Online Logo

Harris-Stowe, Xavier (LA) and Langston begin NAIA Div I Women's Basketball Championship quest in Jackson, TN

March 14, 2007

OLATHE, Kan. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) 27th Annual Division I Women's Basketball National Championship begins today at Jackson, Tenn.'s Oman Arena with three HBCU's in the 32-team field.

No. 4 Oklahoma City University faces No. 5 Freed-Hardeman University (Tenn.) to tip-off the tournament Wednesday morning at 8:30 a.m. Highlighting day one of the tournament will be No. 1 Vanguard University (Calif.), who plays No. 8 Harris-Stowe State (Mo.) at 12 noon Wednesday.

Xavier (LA) meets Caroll (Mont) at 10:15 a.m. Wednesday.

Langston faces Azusa Pacific Thursday at 12:30 p.m.

The first 30 games of the tournament will be video streamed live on the Internet, while the National Championship Game will air live nationwide on College Sports Television (CSTV), with Ann Schatz calling the action and Patti Phillips providing in-depth analysis.

Automatic Qualifiers
American Midwest Conference - Harris Stowe State (Mo.)
Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference - Saint Xavier University (Ill.)
Frontier Conference - Carroll College (Mont.)
Golden State Athletic Conference - Vanguard University (Calif.)
Golden State Athletic Conference - Point Loma Nazarene University (Calif.)
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference - Loyola University (La.)
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference - Xavier (La.)
Independent Qualifying Tournament - Brescia University (Ky.)
Mid-South Conference - West Virginia Tech
Red River Athletic Conference - Langston University (Okla.)
Red River Athletic Conference - Houston Baptist University (Texas)
Sooner Athletic Conference - Lubbock Christian University (Texas)
Sooner Athletic Conference - Southern Nazarene University (Okla.)
Southern States Athletic Conference - Lee University (Tenn.)
Southern States Athletic Conference - Auburn Montgomery University (Ala.)
TranSouth Athletic Conference - Union University (Tenn.)
TranSouth Athletic Conference - Trevecca Nazarene University (Tenn.)

At-Large Berths
At-Large A - Westmont University (Calif.)
At-Large B - Westminster College (Utah)
At-Large C - Oklahoma City University
At-Large D - Oklahoma Christian University
At-Large E - Oklahoma Baptist University
At-Large F - University of Montana-Western
At-Large G - McKendree College (Ill.)
At-Large H - The Master's University (Calif.)
At-Large I - Lewis-Clark State College (Idaho)
At-Large J - Lambuth University (Tenn.)
At-Large K - Freed-Hardman University (Tenn.)
At-Large L - University of the Cumberlands (Ky.)
At-Large M - Cumberland University (Tenn.)
At-Large N - Columbia (Mo.)
At-Large O - Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index