Onnidan Online Logo

Hampton and Alcorn State learn opponents in Div I Men's Tennis Playoffs
Pirates to meet Virginia; Braves to face LSU

May 1, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2007 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships.

First- and second-round competition will be conducted Friday-Saturday or Saturday-Sunday, May 11-12 or 12-13, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships at Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia.

The team championship will be held May 17-22. The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

The selection of teams and individuals for the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships is based on the prescribed criteria listed in the championships handbook and approved by the Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2006 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

America East Conference: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Atlantic 10 Conference: University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Atlantic Coast Conference: University of Virginia
Atlantic Sun Conference: East Tennessee State University
Big 12 Conference: Baylor University
Big East Conference: University of Notre Dame
Big Sky Conference: California State University, Sacramento
Big South Conference: Radford University
Big Ten Conference: Ohio State University
Big West Conference :University of California, Santa Barbara
Colonial Athletic Association: Georgia State University
Conference USA: University of Tulsa
Horizon League: Butler University
Ivy Group: Columbia University
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Manhattan College
Mid-American Conference: Western Michigan University
Mid-Continent Conference: Oral Roberts University
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: Hampton University
Missouri Valley Conference: Drake University
Mountain West Conference: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Northeast Conference: Fairleigh Dickinson University, Metropolitan Campus
Ohio Valley Conference: Jacksonville State University
Pacific-10 Conference: University of California, Los Angeles
Patriot League: U.S. Naval Academy
Southeastern Conference: University of Georgia
Southern Conference: Elon University
Southland Conference: Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Southwestern Athletic Conference: Alcorn State University
Sun Belt Conference: University of South Alabama
West Coast Conference: Pepperdine University
Western Athletic Conference: Boise State University



Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index