Onnidan Online Logo

NCAA Div I Softball Playoffs Selections Announced

May 13, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS—The defending champion University of Arizona was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Wildcats, champions of the Pacific-10 Conference, are 39-12-1 and will open play against the automatic qualifier from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (winner of North Carolina A&T State University vs. Howard University), May 18, in front of a home crowd in Tucson.

A&T delayed the determination of the MEAC champion by storming through the loser's bracket of the conference tournament and staving off elimination by defeating Howard, 13-8, Sunday afternoon in Baltimore. The Aggies win sets up a winner take all scenario at Randazzo Park as the two teams will go for the championship and the automatic NCAA bid Monday morning at 10.

Weather had delayed play in the tournament on Saturday.

The Aggies won three games on Sunday to reach Monday’s final. They beat Morgan State 11-5 in a game that was continued over from Saturday night after rain halted play. A&T then eliminated Delaware State from the tourney with a 5-4 win before defeating the Bison. The Aggies improved to 5-1 in the tournament and 30-29 on the season. Howard is 34-19 on the season.

Twenty-nine conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 35 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Mississippi Valley State captured its fourth consecutive SWAC Softball Tournament Title with a 4-1 victory over Southern University on April 30 in Baton Rouge. The Delta Devilettes will face DePaul on May 18 in Carbondale, IL.  

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The Pac-10 led all conferences with eight teams in the championship, while the Southeastern Conference placed seven, the Big 12 Conference has six, and the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Big West Conference each had five. California State University, Fresno, remains the only team to be selected to all 26 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Sam Houston State University, Eastern Michigan University, Stetson University, Winthrop University, and Furman University. Only eight schools have been crowned champion, all of which are in this year’s bracket.

* Indicates host institution

Tucson Regional - May 18-20 at Tucson, Arizona
*No. 1 seed Arizona (39-12-1) vs. N.C. A&T/ Howard
Pacific (34-22) vs. Mississippi St. (34-25)

Columbus Regional - May 18-20 at Columbus, Ohio
*Ohio St. (38-16) vs. Canisius (27-19)
Cal St. Fullerton (34-20) vs. No. 16 seed Virginia Tech (47-14)

Ann Arbor Regional - May 18-20 at Ann Arbor, Michigan
*No. 9 seed Michigan (43-11) vs. Eastern Mich. (27-20)
Louisville (36-23) vs. Oregon St. (39-21)

Hempstead Regional - May 18-20 at Hempstead, New York
*Hofstra (40-13) vs. Harvard (31-13)
Albany (N.Y.) (33-15) vs. No. 8 seed Baylor (45-13)

Knoxville Regional - May 18-20 at Knoxville, Tennessee
No. 5 seed Tennessee (54-5) vs. Furman (21-34-1)
Winthrop (48-16) vs. North Carolina (45-19)

Los Angeles Regional - May 18-20 at Los Angeles, California
Hawaii (46-11) vs. UC Santa Barb. (30-21)
Loyola Marymount (45-16) vs. *No. 12 seed UCLA (36-16)

Gainesville Regional - May 18-20 at Gainesville, Florida
*No. 13 seed Florida (46-20) vs. Stetson (44-20)
Texas (33-18) vs. Georgia Tech (53-13)

College Station Regional - May 18-20 at College Station ,Texas
Houston (42-16) vs. La.- Lafayette (46-16)
Sam Houston St. (37-24) vs. *No. 4 seed Texas A&M (40-10)

Amherst Regional - May 18-20 at Amherst, Massachusetts
No. 3 seed Oklahoma (52-6) vs. Colgate (25-22)
Long Island (33-20) vs. *Massachusetts (37-12-1)

Carbondale Regional - May 18-20 at Carbondale, Illinois
Missouri (38-22) vs. *Southern Ill. (40-14)
Mississippi Valley (29-26) vs. No. 14 seed DePaul (41-11)

Tuscaloosa Regional - May 18-20 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama
*No. 11 seed Alabama (51-7) vs. Tennessee Tech (48-17)
California (33-30) vs. Florida St. (44-23)

Lincoln Regional - May 18-20 at Lincoln, Nebraska
*Nebraska (37-18) vs. Georgia (43-26)
Creighton (39-12-1) vs. No. 6 seed Washington (35-16)

Provo Regional - May 17-19 at Provo, Utah
No. 7 seed Arizona St. (49-15) vs. Southern Utah (29-29)
*Brigham Young (41-18) vs. Cal Poly (39-15)

Palo Alto Regional - May 17-19 at Palo Alto, California
*Stanford (33-19-1) vs. Fresno State (46-16)
Cal St. Northridge (23-21) vs. No. 10 seed LSU (52-10)

Columbia Regional - May 18-20 at Columbia, South Carolina
No. 15 seed North Carolina St. (41-19) vs. *South Carolina (34-23)
Penn St. (26-23) vs. Oregon (42-17)

Evanston Regional - May 18-20 at Evanston, Illinois
Illinois St. (42-15-1) vs. Notre Dame (31-22)
Wright St. (25-33) vs. *No. 2 seed Northwestern (45-11)

The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites.

The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 25-26 (Memorial Day Weekend) at eight campus sites.

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted May 31 to June 6 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

The NCAA Division I Softball Committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship: Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Twenty-nine conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2007 championship.

Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible.

America East Conference – Albany (N.Y.)
Atlantic Coast Conference –Virginia Tech
Atlantic-10 Conference – Massachusetts
Atlantic Sun Conference – Stetson
Big East Conference – Louisville
Big South Conference –Winthrop
Big Ten Conference – Ohio St.
Big 12 Conference – Oklahoma
Big West Conference – Cal Poly
Colonial Athletic Conference – Hofstra
Conference USA Conference – Houston
Horizon League Conference – Wright St.
Ivy Group – Harvard
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference – Canisius
Mid-American Athletic Conference – Eastern Mich.
Mid-Continent Conference –Southern Utah
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference – Winner of N.C. A&T /Howard
Missouri Valley Conference – Creighton
Mountain West Conference – Brigham Young
Northeast Conference – Long Island
Ohio Valley Conference – Tennessee Tech
Pacific Coast Softball Conference – Loyola Marymount
Pacific-10 Conference – Arizona
Patriot League Conference – Colgate
Southeastern Conference – LSU
Southern Conference – Furman
Southland Conference – Sam Houston St.
Southwestern Athletic Conference – Mississippi Valley
Western Athletic Conference – Fresno St.



Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index