Onnidan Online Logo

Once again, Albany State is top pick in SIAC Preseason Football Rankings; Lane's Ellis leads Preseason Team

July 20, 2007

Tucker, GA – All by themselves, the SIAC Football Coaches Association has determined the 2007 Preseason All Conference Football Team and Predicted Order of Finish.  Highlighting the list are 29 returning players including all but two first team honorees from last season.  Albany State was selected as the favorite to win it's fifth consecutive conference title.

Media and sports information directors are excluded from the process.

"Remember that coaches made these predictions," said Greg Thompson of Stillman. "Last year they picked us to finish seventh and we finished fourth." Thompson has gone from the youngest coach in the conference when he led Morris Brown, to the oldest representative on the dias.

The SIAC welcomed new coaches, Stan Conner (Benedict) and Rich Freeman (Morehouse), to the conference. Both coaches are already familiar with the conference.

Conner came to Columbia, SC from Alabama A&M and reflected on his time as a player when the Bulldogs were members of the SIAC.

Freeman left Lane, where he was assistant head coach and defensive coordinator for the Dragons last year, to take over the Maroon Tiger program

Sherard Ellis, a junior QB for Lane leads a list of nine Dragons named to the Preseason All-SIAC list including five who were named to the 1st team.  Tuskegee University finished a close second with eight players picked. 

The preseason team 1st team offense is comprised all of returning players including Sherard Ellis (JR/QB, Lane), Elijah Clark (SR/RB, Benedict), Virgil Union (SR/WR, Lane), Jerome Bryant (SR/WR, Kentucky State), Earnest Everett (JR/TE, Morehouse) and Anthony Driver (SR/OL, Tuskegee).

For the defense, Curtis Johnson (SR/DL, Clark Atlanta) and Michael Porter (SR/LB, Clark Atlanta) who helped lead the efforts for the #1 defense in the NCAA, anchors the all conference team.  The SIAC tackle leader from 2006 Ivan Diggs (SR/DB, Fort Valley State) leads the all conference defensive back core with Carl Spellman (SR, Benedict), Denatay Heard (SR, Stillman) and Harvey Scott (SR, Lane)

The second team offense is comprised of impact players including Charles McCullum (SR/QB, Stillman), Richard Fitzhugh (SR/RB, Tuskegee) and Ed Williams (SR/WR, Lane).  For the defense, impact players include Jonathan Hall (SO/LB, Tuskegee), Anthony Richardson (SR/DL, Kentucky State), Terrance Stringer (SR/DB, Tuskegee) and Deaveon McCord (SR/DB, Stillman).
Albany State was chosen as the favorite for the SIAC title followed by Tuskegee University, Fort Valley State University, Clark Atlanta University and Lane College. 


 1. Albany State University 
 2. Tuskegee University 
 3. Fort Valley State University 
 4. Clark Atlanta University
 5. Lane College 
 6. Kentucky State University 
 7. Stillman College 
 8. Miles College 
 9. Benedict College 
10. Morehouse College

1st TEAM

Quarterback: Sherard Ellis JR Missouri City, TX Lane College
Running Back: Elijah Clark SR Hawkinsville, GA Benedict College
Jeremy Spears SR Jasper, AL Miles College
Wide Receivers: Jerome Bryant SR Boynton Beach, FL Kentucky State University
Virgil Union SR St. Louis, MO Lane College
Tight End: Earnest Everett JR Hinesville, GA Morehouse College
Offensive Lineman: Jonathan Didier SR Miami, FL Clark Atlanta University
Nartavious Mitchell SR Miami, FL Kentucky State University
Stanley Wright JR Holly Hill, SC Benedict College
Joseph Williams SO Savannah, GA Morehouse College
Anthony Driver SR Columbus, GA Tuskegee University
Defensive Lineman: Curtis Johnson SR Lauderhill, FL Clark Atlanta University
Donny Wilcher SR Atlanta, GA Benedict College
James Cooper SR St. Louis, MO Lane College
Clifford Stanford SR Los Angeles, CA Lane College
Linebackers: Michael Porter SR Pacoima, CA Clark Atlanta University
Alex Dumeus SR Tampa, FL Stillman College
Brandon Parnell SR Marrero, LA Miles College
Defensive Backs: Carl Spellman SR Willingboro, NJ Benedict College
Ivan Diggs SR Newport News, VA Fort Valley State Univ.
Denatay Heard SR LaGrange, GA Stillman College
Harvey Scott SR Detroit, MI Lane College
Special Teams:
Kick Returner: Jerome Bryant SR Boynton Beach, FL Kentucky State University
Punt Returner: Denatay Heard SR LaGrange, GA Stillman College
Place Kicker: Jake Grubbs JR Warner Robbins, GA Fort Valley State Univ.
Punter: Brandon Larkin SR Richmond, VA Clark Atlanta University

Quarterbacks Charles McCullum SR Atlanta, GA Stillman College
Running Backs: Gary Neavins SO Jacksonville, FL Albany State University
Richard Fitzhugh SR Washington, DC Tuskegee University
Wide Receivers: Lorenzo Crawford SR Paterson, NJ Tuskegee University
Ed Williams SR Montgomery, AL Lane College
Tight End: Jarell Hall SO Americus, GA Fort Valley State Univ.
Offensive Lineman: James Jenkins JR Germantown, MD Kentucky State University
Ramon Harwood SO Savannah, GA Morehouse College
Larry Peoples SR Jacksonville, FL Tuskegee University
Kevin Jones SR Alexander City, AL Tuskegee University
Eric Mortinear SO Selma, AL Lane College
Defensive Lineman: Anthony Richardson SR Louisville, KY Kentucky State University
Jason Marshall SR Daleville, AL Albany State University
Sammi Hill JR West Blocton, AL Stillman College
Anthony Crayton SO St. Louis, MO Lane College
Linebackers: Jonathan Hall SO Mobile, AL Tuskegee University
Roderick Cummings JR Macon, GA Albany State University
Clifton Sanders JR Pleasant Grove, AL Tuskegee University
Defensive Backs: Leo Spears SR Ft. Myers, FL Lane College
Deaveon McCord SR Birmingham, AL Stillman College
Terrance Stringer SR Smiths, AL Tuskegee University
Jarrod Simpson SR Birmingham, AL Tuskegee University
Special Teams:
Kick Returner: Brian Witherspoon SR Butler, AL Stillman College
Punt Returner: Jason Marshall SR Daleville, AL Albany State University
Place Kicker: Mauricio Garcia SR Anaheim, CA Kentucky State University
Punter: Randy Allen SR Dallas, TX Albany State University


Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index