Onnidan Online Logo

Newsroom Index

Join the discussion
on the Fan Forum

Onnidan Owl
Front Page

Inaugural Inductees announced for Black College Football Hall of Fame

Bookmark and Share

January 15, 2010

(Atlanta, GA) – Eight players, two coaches and one contributor were announced today as the Inaugural Class of Inductees for The Black College Football Hall of Fame. Established in 2009 by football pioneer quarterbacks Pro Bowl MVP James "Shack" Harris and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams, the Hall of Fame is based in Atlanta, Georgia, and will honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

The Priority Payment Systems Inaugural Enshrinement Ceremony will be held February 20, 2010, in conjunction with Black History Month, from 6:00 – 9:30 p.m. at the Four Seasons Hotel in Atlanta. For more information, visit www.BlackCollegeFootballHOF.org. The members of the Inaugural Class of Inductees are:

· Buck Buchanan (DE, Grambling State University, 1959-1963)
· Willie “Gallopin’ Gal” Galimore (RB, Florida A&M University, 1953-1956)
· David “Deacon” Jones (DE, S.C. State & Mississippi Valley State, 1958-1960)
· Willie “Honey Bear” Lanier (LB, Morgan State University, 1963-1967)
· Walter “Sweetness” Payton (RB, Jackson State University, 1971-1974)
· Jerry Rice (WR, Mississippi Valley State University, 1981-1984)
· Ben “Big Ben” Stevenson (RB, Tuskegee University, 1923-1930)
· Paul "Tank" Younger (RB/DB, Grambling State University, 1945-1948)
· Alonzo “Jake” Gaither (Head Coach, Florida A&M University, 1945-1969)
· Eddie G. Robinson (Head Coach, Grambling State University, 1941-1997)
· Bill Nunn, Jr. (Pittsburgh Courier Journalist and NFL Scout)

ESPN Monday Night Football Analyst Jon Gruden will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the Enshrinement Ceremony. Atlanta Falcons Owner and President of AMB Group Arthur Blank and Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations and Mayor of Atlanta Andrew Young will serve as an Honorary Chairmen of the event. Priority Payment Systems is Title Sponsor, King & Spalding LLP is Presenting Sponsor and The Four Seasons Hotel is a Platinum Sponsor.

A Selection Committee comprised of prominent journalists and football executives chose 35 finalists, from a field of more than 260 nominees, before naming the 11 Inaugural Inductees.

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index