Onnidan Online Logo

Newsroom Index

Join the discussion
on the Fan Forum

Onnidan Owl
Front Page

SIAC Preseason Football picks announced

Bookmark and Share

July 24, 2009

Tucker, GA. – The SIAC has announced the 2009 Preseason All Conference Football Team and Predicted Order of Finish. This year’s team returns 20-1st Team All Conference Players and 24 total returning players. In a close poll by the coaches Albany State was voted as the team to beat in the conference followed by Tuskegee and Morehouse.

Two time 1,000 yard rusher, Winston Thompson of Clark Atlanta University, returns as the top running back in the conference and leads a list of seven (7) Panthers named to the list including five (5) who were named to the 2nd team. Tuskegee for the second year in the row has double digit members on the All Conference team. This year’s team features 12 players including five (5) on the first team, four of which are either defensive or secondary players. Morehouse had the most players on the 1st team with six (6) players, four (4) of which were on offense.

The preseason 1st team offense is comprised of all but three returning players including: Winston Thompson (JR/RB Clark Atlanta), Quinn Porter (SR/RB Stillman), Juwan Jones (SR/WR Kentucky State), Robert Smith (SR/TE Lane), Eric Martinear (JR/OL Lane), Ramone Harewood (SR/OL Morehouse), Michael Stevens (SR/OL Tuskegee), and Chris Hymel (SR/OL Stillman).

Newcomers to the 1st team were all Morehouse Men including William Brack (JR/QB Morehouse), Achille Hendje (SR/WR Morehouse) and Joseph Williams (SR/OL Morehouse). Hendje, along with Juwan Jones and Robert Smith led the SIAC in receiving last year with each averaging five (5) catches per game and over 10 yards per catch.

Highlighting the defense is Marcus Winston of Clark Atlanta. Winston was 4th in the conference in sacks and 5th in tackles for a loss, last season, en route to leading the 12th ranked defense in the nation. Other notables on the 1st Team Defense include Joshua Ingram (JR/DL Albany State), Danny Anderson (SR/DL Tuskegee), Dejuan Holmes (SR/DL Morehouse), James Graham (SR/LB Benedict), Cordell Key (SR/LB Kentucky State), Jonathan Hall (SR/LB Tuskegee), Justin Hannah (SR/DB Tuskegee), Derrick Shelton (SR/DB Lane), Derrick Addai (JR/DB Kentucky State) and Mario Fuller (SR/DB Albany State).

The Special Teams lists include Jamar Rodriquez (JR/KR Morehouse), Antoine Mitchell (JR/PR Tuskegee), Alper Keskin (SR/PK Benedict) and Anthony Foster (JR/P Benedict).

The second team offense is comprised of impact players including a pair of star wideouts Mortimer Lightburn (SR/WR Clark Atlanta) and Antoine Mitchell (JR/WR Tuskegee). Other notables are Anthony Boykins (JR/RB, Kentucky State) and Alphonso Johnson (SR/OL Clark Atlanta). For the defense, impact players include DJ Nettles (SR/DL, Morehouse), Trent Newton (SR/LB Fort Valley State) and Zimier McCloud (SR/LB Clark Atlanta).

Albany State was chosen as the favorite for the 2009 SIAC title followed by Tuskegee, Morehouse and Clark Atlanta. Tuskegee was also ranked #16 by the Sporting News and Lindsey Magazine Top 25.

The Predicted Order of Finish and Preseason All Conference teams were chosen by the SIAC Football Coaches Association.

2009 Preseason All Conference Football Team
1st Team
Name CL Hometown Institution
Quarterback William Brack JR Memphis, TN Morehouse College
Running Back Winston Thompson JR Miami, FL Clark Atlanta University
Quinn Porter SR Los Angeles, CA Stillman College
Wide Receiver Juwan Jones SR Louisville, KY Kentucky State University
Achille Hendje SR Silver Springs, MD Morehouse College
Tight End Robert Smith SR St. Louis, MO Lane College
Offensive Lineman Eric Martiner SR Selma, AL Lane College
Ramone Harewood SR Christchurch, Barbados Morehouse College
Michael Stevens SR Montgomery, AL Tuskegee University
Chris Hymel SR Lutcher, LA Stillman College
Joseph Williams SR Savannah, GA Morehouse College
Defensive Lineman Joshua Ingram JR Milledgeville, GA Albany State University
Danny Anderson SR Butler, AL Tuskegee University
Marcus Winston SR Lansing, MI Clark Atlanta University
Dejuan Holmes SR Atlanta, GA Morehouse College
Linebackers James Graham SR Satters, SC Benedict College
Jonathan Hall SR Mobile, AL Tuskegee University
Cordell Key SR Atlanta, GA Kentucky State University
Defensive Back Justin Hannah SR Birmingham, AL Tuskegee University
Derrick Shelton SR Missouri City, TX Lane College
Derrick Addai JR Houston, TX Kentucky State University
Mario Fuller SR Miami, FL Albany State University
Special Teams
Kick Returner Jamar Rodriquez JR Houston, TX Morehouse College
Punt Returner Antoine Mitchell JR Atlanta, GA Tuskegee University
Place Kicker Alper Keskin SR Mt. Shasta, CA Benedict College
Punter Anthony Foster JR Mobile, AL Benedict College
2nd Team
Quarterback Chivas Jones SO Del Ray Beach, FL Miles College
Running Back Tony Forney SR Atlanta, GA Tuskegee University
Anthony Boykins JR Dallas, TX Kentucky State University
Wide Receiver Mortimer Lightburn JR Tampa, FL Clark Atlanta University
Antoine Mitchell JR Atlanta, GA Tuskegee University
Tight End Larry Johnson SR Decatur, GA Albany State University
Offensive Lineman Alphonso Johnson SR Montgomery, AL Clark Atlanta University
Mike Mavromichalis SO Savannah, GA Albany State University
Carlton Norman JR Baton Rouge, LA Clark Atlanta University
Keith Griffin JR Louisville, KY Kentucky State University
Kenny Peaks JR Pensacola, FL Miles College
Defensive Lineman Michael Stevens SR Montgomery, AL Tuskegee University
D.J. Nettles JR Montgomery, AL Morehouse College
Timothy Bullock SR Atlanta, GA Lane College
Robert Jackson SR Jonesboro, GA Fort Valley State University
Linebackers Michael Thompson SR Springfield, OH Benedict College
Trent Newton SR Lakeland, FL Fort Valley State University
Zimier McCloud SR Philadelphia, PA Clark Atlanta University
Defensive Back Jerome Obie SR High Point, NC Tuskegee University
Justin Murray SO Shreveport, LA Morehouse College
Kenneth Baker SO Birmingham, AL Tuskegee University
Darnell Burks JR Cuthbert, GA Fort Valley State University
Special Teams
Kick Returner Jamarion Robinson SO Douglasville, GA Clark Atlanta University
Punt Returner AníThon Harris JR Miami, FL Fort Valley State University
Place Kicker Juan Bongarra SR Buenos Aires Albany State University
Punter Christopher Khan SR Tuskegee, AL Tuskegee University

1. Albany State University
2. Tuskegee University
3. Morehouse College
4. Clark Atlanta University
5. Miles College
6. Fort Valley State University
7. Benedict College
8. Lane College
9. Stillman College
10. Kentucky State University

As Voted by the SIAC Football Coaches Association

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index