Onnidan Online Logo

Newsroom Index

Join the discussion
on the Fan Forum

Onnidan Owl
Front Page

Black, Anthony Lead Preseason All-SWAC Teams; Prairie View and Alabama A&M predicted to win respective divisions

Bookmark and Share

July 20, 2010

Birmigham, Ala. - With offensive and defensive players of the year returning from 2009 in Prairie View quarterback K.J. Black and Grambling defensive end Christian Anthony, the preseason all-SWAC football team for 2010 carried few surprises - especially since Prairie View and Alabama A&M were selected to repeat as respective division champions for the upcoming season.

Anthony was a dominant defensive force who finished 10th in the league with 76 tackles and third overall in both sacks (8.0) and tackles-for-loss (15.0) in 2009. As a defensive lineman he recorded five interceptions and returned two of them for touchdowns for the Tigers. He led the league in fumbles forced with five, and he recovered three loose balls.

Black was the premier offensive threat in the SWAC in 2009 while leading the Panthers to their first conference title in nearly half a century. Black threw for 225.9 yards per game and led the league in pass efficiency by nearly 30 points at 172.8. He tossed 22 touchdowns on the season with just four interceptions.


According to the SWAC coaches, sports information directors and selected media menbers, the Farmers Insurance SWAC Football Championship Game should be a rematch on December 11 at Legion Field. The selection group has picked Prairie View A&M and Alabama A&M to repeat as respective division champions for the 2010 season.

Western Division: The Panthers garnered 17 first place votes and outdistanced second-place selection Grambling by 25 total tallies. Texas Southern finished third, 11 votes shy of Grambling, while Southern and Arkansas-Pine Bluff were predicted a distant fourth and fifth, respectively.

PVAM (17) 104; GRAM (2) 79; TXSO (2) 68; SUBR 42; UAPB (1) 37.

Eastern Division: Alabama A&M was selected in a tight race with Jackson State in the eastern predicted race. The Bulldogs got 15 first place votes and ended with a 12 vote cushion over the Tigers. Alcorn State finished third following JSU by 17 votes. Alabama State and Mississippi Valley State were predicted to finish fourth and fifth, respectively.

AAMU (15) 98; JKST (5) 86; ALCN (2) 69; ALST 50; MVSU 27.

2010 Football Preseason All-SWAC Selections
Offensive Player of the Year – K.J. Black, QB, Prairie View A&M
Defensive Player of the Year – Christian Anthony, DL, Grambling
OL Russell Jackson, Alabama A&M OL Anquez Jackson, Alabama A&M
OL James Dekle, Prairie View A&M OL Bruce Beal, Alabama State
OL Tim Tusey, Prairie View A&M OL Antonio Colston, Jackson State
OL Ramon Chinyoung, Southern OL Terrael Williams, Jackson State
OL Charles Smith, Texas Southern OL Chris Browne, Southern
RB Frank Warren, Grambling RB Cornelius Walker, Grambling
RB Donald Babers, Prairie View A&M RB Martin Gilbert, Texas Southern
WR Nick Andrews, Alabama State WR Edward Johnson, Alcorn State
WR William Osbourn, Texas Southern WR Shaun Stephens, Prairie View A&M
TE Ryan Singleton, Alcorn State TE Larry Donnell, Grambling
QB K.J. Black, Prairie View A&M QB Arvell Nelson, Texas Southern
DL Frank Kearse, Alabama A&M DL Kynjee Cotton, Alabama State
DL Christian Anthony, Grambling DL Malcolm Taylor, Alcorn State
DL Donovan Robinson, Jackson State DL Reginald Foster, Mississippi Valley
DL Quinton Spears, Prairie View A&M DL Rolando Melancon, Texas Southern
LB Afu Okosun, Alabama A&M LB Ryan Rich, Jackson State
LB Cliff Exama, Grambling LB Rory Malone, Mississippi Valley
LB Max Sencherey, Prairie View A&M LB Dejuan Fulgham, Texas Southern
DB Anthony Johnson, Jackson State DB Korey Morrison, Alabama A&M
DB Kerry Hoskins, Jackson State DB Donovan Masline, Alabama State
DB Chris Adingupu, Prairie View A&M DB Markkus Davis, Mississippi Valley
DB Jason House, Southern DB De’Markus Washington, Texas Southern
PK Ari Johnson, Grambling PK Brady Faggard, Prairie View A&M
P Pedro Ventura, Prairie View A&M P Josh Duran, Southern
KR Kiare Thompson, Grambling KR Mareo Howard, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Onnidan Owl
Front Page
Newsroom Index