BCSP: The Banner of Black College Sports

Return to Front Page

Become a Booster


1. TUSKEGEE (12-0) - Prolific offense and stingy defense produces undefeated season for second-year coach Willie Slater, SIAC and Pioneer Bowl titles and BCSP's final top ranking, its first since back-to-back top finishes in 2000 and 2001.

2. DELAWARE STATE (10-2) - Fouth-year coach Al Lavan led the Hornets to their first MEAC championship since 1991 ending Hampton's three-year run atop the league and first-ever FCS playoff berth.

3. JACKSON STATE (7-4) - SWAC East Division champ won first SWAC title in head coach Rick Comegy's second year, JSU's first title in 11 years.

4. NORFOLK STATE (8-3) - Unprecedented second place tie in MEAC under third-year head coach Pete Adrian.

5. GRAMBLING STATE (8-4) - In first year under new coach Rod Broadway, Tigers win SWAC West before losing in league's title game to Jackson State.

6. SOUTH CAROLINA STATE (7-4) - Bridesmaids again finishing tied for second in MEAC with Norfolk State.

7. ALBANY STATE (8-3) - Second place finish in SIAC. Bowed out in first round of NCAA Div. II playoffs.

8. SOUTHERN (8-3) - After back-to-back losing seasons, finished tied for second in SWAC West with Prairie View and helped get Pete Richardson a new deal.

9. PRAIRIE VIEW A&M (7-3) - First winning season since 1976 and second -place tie in SWAC West with Southern earned new four-year contract for head coach Henry Frazier.

10. SHAW (8-4) - Darrell Asberry claims CIAA title, Div. II playoff berth in just his second year leading the Bears lost in first round of Div. II playoffs.

© 2007 Azeez Communications, Inc.