BCSP: The Banner of Black College Sports

What's Going On In and Around Black College Sports

Eddie RobinsonAWARDS TIME: National ballots for postseason player and coach of the year honors in black college football have been sent out. Street & Smith's Inc., sponsors of the Eddie Robinson Coach and Player of the Year awards, mailed their ballots last week. The winners will be presented at halftime of the Dec. 2, SWAC championship game in Birmingham and will be honored in January with a dinner and award ceremony in Atlanta. The Spirit Awards, sponsored by the Rutherford Group of Los Angeles, also sent out ballots last week. The winners in six Spirit Award categories (offensive back, offensive lineman, receiver, defensive lineman, linebacker and defensive back) will be named in December with the overall winner of the Paul "Tank" Younger Trophy, signalling the best player in black college football, to be announced during a show in Los Angeles in February. Spirit Award candidates by category are:

  • OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: Brian Andrews, Winston-Salem State; Quentin Briscoe, Southern; Marcus Bronson, Virginia Union; Lareko Elliot, Jackson State; Chris Kinloch, NC A&T; LaShaun Mack, Norfolk State; Victor Marte', NC A&T; Larry Metevia, Grambling State; Qasim Mitchell, NC A&T; Arthur Moore, Bowie State; Phillip Shiflett, Fort Valley State; Jason Reaves, Virginia Union; Kevin Thomas, Jackson State; Chance Turner, Alabama A&M; Courtney Van Buren, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Omar Williams, Albany State;
  • OFFENSIVE BACK: Andre Braxton, RB, Virginia Union; Alvon Brown, RB, Kentucky State; Montrell Coley, RB, Hampton; Robert Cummings, RB, Albany State; Quinn Gray, QB, Florida A&M; Antonio Hawkins, QB, Virginia State; Michael Hicks, RB, NC. A&T; Corey Holmes, RB, Miss. Valley State; Randy Hymes, QB, Grambling State; Ron Johnson, RB, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Darnell Kennedy, QB, Alabama State; Adam Lamb, QB, Texas Southern; Rahsaan Matthews, QB, Delaware State; Dwight McKissick, RB, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Terrie Newkirk, RB, Winston-Salem State; Jay Rogers, RB, Bethune-Cookman; Cleo Stinyard, RB, Fort Valley State; PaTell Troutman, QB, Bethune-Cookman; Brian Villanueva, QB, Fort Valley State; Tory Woodbury, QB, Winston-Salem State
  • RECEIVER: Scotty Anderson, Grambling State; Xamon Glasper, Kentucky State; Kenyon Hambrick, Alabama A&M; Michael Hayes, Southern; Albert Horsey, Delaware State; Julius Hull, Tennessee State; Jerwade Lloyd, Virginia State; Jacquay Nunnally, Florida A&M; Kent Schoolfield, Fort Valley State; Damon Thompson, Virginia State; Kenard Williams, Alabama State
  • DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Ado Adwaters, Albany State; Oby Arah, Howard; Michael Bland, Hampton; Damion Cook, Bethune-Cookman; Jauron Dailey, Florida A&M; Robert Mathis, Alabama A&M; Yarvis Pringle, Fort Valley State; Leonard Reliford, NC A&T; Danny Roberson, Tennessee State; Greg Scott, Hampton; Damian Walker, Howard; Corey Williams, Winston-Salem State; Robert Williams, NC A&T
  • LINEBACKERS: Carnell Brown, Winston-Salem State; Calvin Bryant, Winston-Salem State; Patrick Burrows, Florida A&M; Donte Curry, Morris Brown; LaKunta Farmer, Kentucky State; John Grant, Morehouse; George Guidry, Grambling State; Anthony Hubbard, Bethune-Cookman; B. J. Little, NC A&T; Lernard Mack, Texas Southern; Ray Massey, NC A&T; Edward Reese, Jackson State; Kelvin Powell, Tuskegee; Robert Taylor, Grambling State; Maurice Thomas, Fort Valley State; Michael Wall, Virginia State; Jamal Ware, Alabama A&M; Tracey White, Howard; Alvin Wilson, Elizabeth City State
  • DEFENSIVE BACK: Edrece Brown, Southern; Melvin Coleman, Morgan State; Willie Crite, Florida A&M; DaShane Dennis, Delaware State; Tommy Dawson,Virginia Union; Joe Giddens, Bethune-Cookman; Eric Hall, Albany State; Ed Handsome, Virginia State; Ralph Hunter, Virginia Union; Devie King, Livingstone; Carlos Lawrence, Bethune-Cookman; Vontrae Long, Howard; Rashean Mathis, Bethune-Cookman; Brian McDonald, Howard; Temell Perkett, NC A&T; Chane Price, Tennessee State; Ed Sanders, Tennessee State; Calvin Spears, Grambling State; Ken Washington, Alcorn State
  • BASKETBALL TIP: The classic concept, which has had great success on the gridiron, makes a debut on the hardcourt in Baltimore at the Nov. 25 doubleheader dubbed the Harbor City Classic. At the city's downtown Baltimore Arena, cross-town MEAC rivals Coppin State and Morgan State will play the 7:30 pm second game after perennial CIAA contenders Virginia Union and Johnson C. Smith square off in the 5:30 pm opener. Another hoop special, this one with a CIAA vs. MEAC flavor, will be the Legacy Classic set for January 14 at the Charlotte (NC) Coliseum. There, N. C. A&T will battle N. C. Central (3:30 pm) followed by J. C. Smith and Winston-Salem State (5:30).

    © 2000 Azeez Communications, Inc.