Google Custom Search


WHEELING, W.Va. – As of Monday, July 1st, the Mountain East Conference officially welcomed the twelve charter members of the newest NCAA Division II league.mountain east conf logo

"While we are still more than a month away from when action begins in the Mountain East Conference, we are very excited that our twelve members are moving forward as members of the MEC as of today,” said Commissioner Reid Amos. “This is one of several landmark days for the Mountain East as we officially become the newest active NCAA Division II conference this year. We have every confidence that our new conference will be highly competitive and will provide great opportunities and memorable experiences for our student-athletes.”

The new league's charter members include: Concord University (W.Va.), Fairmont State University (W.Va.), Glenville State College (W.Va.), Notre Dame College (Ohio), Shepherd University (W.Va.), The University of Charleston (W.Va.), The University of Virginia's College at Wise (Va.), Urbana University (Ohio), West Liberty University (W.Va.), West Virginia State University (W.Va.), Wheeling Jesuit University (W.Va.), and West Virginia Wesleyan College (W.Va.).

The new conference will begin begin competition in the fall of 2013 after receiving approval from the NCAA in February.  Eleven schools are currently members of NCAA Division II with Virginia-Wise nearing completion of Candidacy Year 1 of the NCAA Division II membership process.

The 12-team regional all-sports league will sponsor championship competition in 16 men's and women's sports during the 2013-14 academic year.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square