Google Custom Search

TUSKEGEE, Ala.--Benedict College won its first Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Women's Cross Country Championship by placing three runners in the top ten overall at the SIAC Centennial Championship held at the Macon County Road and Bridge Department located in Tuskegee, Alabama.siac09 logo

The Lady Tigers were led by Jonnise Pierce, who had the top overall finish with a time of 21:28.69. The sophomore, in addition, claimed her consecutive SIAC Women's Runner of the Year. Not far behind Pierce, was her teammate and fellow sophomore Astacia Watkins, who finished just eight second behind with a time of 21:36.59. Mikarla Swann (22:38.67) finished in 5th place to round out the Lady Tigers in the top 10.

In second place, by a slim margin, were SIAC Defending Champions  Albany State University. The Lady Rams were led by Olivia Traylor, who finished in third place with a time of 21:40.02. Jeronda Stringfield finished in 9th place with a time of 23:23.95 to lead the Lady Rams.

Anchored by senior Markeshia Woodson, Clark Atlanta University finished in third place. Woodson finished with a time of 21:52.94 to lead the Lady Panthers, who also received a boost from Sanley Richardson's 10th place and time of 23:29.57.

SIAC Coach of the Year was awarded to Frank Hyland of Benedict College.

2013 SIAC Women's  Champion: Benedict College            
2013 SIAC Runner Up: Albany State University
2013 SIAC Third Place: Clark Atlanta University

Morehouse College claimed its fifth consecutive Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Men's Cross Country Championship as the team had four out of five runners place in the top 10 overall at the SIAC Centennial Cross Country Championship run at the Macon County and Bridge Department course Friday morning in Tuskegee, AL.

Anchored by Chris Wilder's time of 27:08.56 (2nd place), Nicholas Hall's run of 27:10.53 (3rd Place), and Kasahun Neselu's  finish of 27:46.51 (4th place), the Maroon Tigers were able to capture an unprecedented 17th Cross Country Championship in 18 years. Gerald Jones (6th place) and Christian Dixon (11th place) rounded out the top five finishers for Morehouse. Overall, the Maroon Tigers finished with an average time of 27:51.19.

Clark Atlanta University finished second at the meet and the team was led by Juan Cartledge's 28:16.14 finish for 8th place overall. The Panthers had its top five runners finish within the Top 20 and their average time was 29.36.16. Rounding out the top three teams was Albany State University, which was led by its catalyst Albert Murrey, who was the top runner at the meet. The senior finished with a time of 26:42.21. Overall, the Golden Rams finished with an average time of 29.54.90.

Murrey was also named the SIAC Runner of the Year for his outstanding performance at the meet. Morehouse legendary head coach Will Hill was named SIAC Coach of the Year.

2013 SIAC Men's Champion: Morehouse College
2013 SIAC Runner Up: Clark Atlanta University
2013 SIAC Third Place: Albany State


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square