Google Custom Search


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) has announced its Hall of Fame class for 2013.

The seven inductees: Reggie Barlow (Alabama State), James ‘Jimmy’ Jones (Grambling State), Charles Ruth (Mississippi Valley State), James ‘Jim’ Osborne (Southern), Carol V. Cummings (Prairie View A&M), Bob Hopkins (Grambling State) and Richard P. Myles Sr. (Alcorn State) will be enshrined in the SWAC Hall of Fame on Thursday, Dec. 5 at the Westin Hotel Galleria in Houston, Texas. The induction is set to begin with a reception at 6 p.m.

The newest members of the Hall of Fame were selected from a list of nominees who were submitted by his or her respective institution. The nominees were then elected for induction by the selection committee from members appointed by SWAC Presidents and Chancellors.SWAC  logo

Barlow, currently the head football coach at the Alabama State University, spent eight years in the NFL with the Jacksonville Jaguars, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and the Oakland Raiders. Barlow played wide receiver at Alabama State and finished his career as the school’s all-time leading receiver.

After his collegiate career at Grambling State, Jones was the No. 2 selection of the former Baltimore Bullets (now Washington Wizards) of the NBA in 1967 and was the No.1 pick of the New Orleans Buccaneers franchise in the ABA draft. He played 10 seasons between the two leagues and was a six-time ABA All-Star.

Ruth was named All-SWAC five times a distance runner at Alcorn State, setting a school record for the outdoor two mile run (9:26). Ruth coached track and football at several SWAC schools and was named 2010 SWAC Coach of the Year in track and field.

Osborne graduated from Southern in 1972 and was drafted by the Chicago Bears after graduation in the seventh round. Soon after being drafted, he was named winner of the Brian Piccolo Award as a rookie and spent his entire 13-year career with the Bears as a defensive tackle.

Cummings was one of eight women who won the first SWAC Indoor and Outdoor Championship for Prairie View A&M University. During her four years at Prairie View, the women’s track team won eight championships, and she set several records in the 100 & 220 yards for Indoor and Outdoor track.

Myles was voted Alcorn State’s Most Outstanding Athlete after leading the Braves to an undefeated regular season in 1984. Named All-SWAC as a quarterback in football and catcher in baseball, Myles was also selected to the dean’s list and was named to Who’s Who among College Student-Athletes.

Hopkins was recently selected for induction into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, after an impressive collegiate at Grambling State and professional athletic career. Still ranked as the No.1 all-time scorer in men’s basketball for the state of Louisiana, Hopkins is considered one of Louisiana’s legendary athletes.

The Induction Ceremony is one of the official events to kick-off the annual SWAC Football Championship Game weekend, consisting of 11 events over a four - day period.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square