Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second-round sites for the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

The Jackson State University Women's tennis team was selected to face No. 2 Alabama in the first round of the Tournament at the Alabama Tennis Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Ala. on May 9.NCAA Women's Tennis

JSU completed its regular season 10-17 overall and finished second during the Southwestern Athletic Conference Championship.  

"It's a great opportunity and honor to go participate in the NCAA Tournament," Head Coach Scott Pennington said. "We haven't been to the tournament since 2009, so we're pleased being in this position going to the tournament. We will do our best; as we have throughout the season and represent the conference and Jackson State with pride."

The defending women's Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Champion South Carolina State University will travel to the sunshine state to take on eight-seeded Florida in the first round of the Championship at the Linder Stadium Tennis Complex.

SC State (13-5) earned their 10th consecutive and 11th overall Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) championship will face the eight-ranked Lady Gators (19-5) in the 64-team draw, Friday May 9 beginning at 3 p.m. ET.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 15-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

Thirty-two conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida
America East – Stony Brook
Atlantic 10 – VCU
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – DePaul
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Northwestern
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Long Beach State
Colonial – UNC-Wilmington
Conference USA – Rice
Horizon – Youngstown State
Ivy – Princeton
MAAC – Quinnipiac
Mid-American – Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Wichita State
Mountain West – Fresno State
Northeast – Fairleigh Dickinson
Ohio Valley – Murray State
Pacific-12 – California
Patriot – Boston U.
SEC – Georgia
Southern – Elon
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Jackson State
Summit – Denver
Sun Belt – Georgia State
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Idaho



Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square