Google Custom Search

Atlanta, GA – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today the establishment of the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. It will be presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU).bcfbhof logo

“We’re excited about the establishment of this Award, which will honor the best football player attending an Historically Black College and University,” said Super Bowl MVP quarterback Doug Williams, a BCFHOF co-founder and 2011 inductee.

The winner of the inaugural Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on February 25, 2017 at the Eighth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia, and will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy.

“Players from Historically Black Colleges and Universities have had a tremendous impact on the game of football,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “There are very few players who represent this Award better than the legendary Deacon Jones.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2016 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee.

First Name Last Name School Position Class
Malcolm Bell North Carolina Central QB Sr.
Kourtney Berry Alabama State LB Sr.
Leeward Brown Tuskegee OL Jr.
Martez Carter Grambling State RB Jr.
Tarik Cohen North Carolina A&T RB Sr.
Markus Cook Jackson State OL Jr.
Nehemiah Coward Central State DB Sr.
Detonio Dade Alcorn State OL Sr.
Jawill Davis Bethune-Cookman WR Jr.
Shawheem Dowdy Virginia Union QB Sr.
Jessamen Dunker Tennessee State OL Sr.
Leonorris Footman Alcorn State QB Jr.
Khris Gardin North Carolina A&T WR/KR Jr.
Marquis Green Mississippi Valley State DB Soph.
Trey Green Prairie View A&M QB Sr.
Derrick Griffin Texas Southern WR Soph.
Greg Hankerson Norfolk State QB Sr.
Hakeem Holland Virginia Union RB Soph.
Austin Howard Southern QB Jr.
Michael Jones Bethune-Cookman RB Sr.
Javancy Jones Jackson State DL Sr.
Mike Jones North Carolina Central DB Jr.
Carl Jones North Carolina Central OL Sr.
Javonte Kelly Lane LB Sr.
Angelo Keyes North Carolina A&T DL Sr.
Darius Leonard South Carolina State LB Jr.
Nyme Manns Bowie State WR Sr.
Dorrel McClain North Carolina Central RB Soph.
Jonah McCutcheon Tuskegee DB Jr.
Paulin Miano Virginia Union DL Sr.
Twarn Mixson Hampton WR Sr.
Julian Morgan Tuskegee DL Sr.
Anthony Mosley Southern OL Sr.
Jamarcus Nance Miles RB Sr.
Ebeneezer Ogundeko Tennessee State DL Jr.
Brandon Parker North Carolina A&T OL Jr.
Jac'que Polite Winston Salem State OL Sr.
Willie Quinn Southern WR Sr.
Marquis Ragland North Carolina A&T DL Sr.
Clim Robbins Central State DB Sr.
Chris Ruffin Miles OL Jr.
Stephen Scott Lincoln (PA) University RB Sr.
Jarvis Small Albany State RB Sr.
Patrick Smith Tennessee State WR Jr.
Guy Stallworth Grambling State DB Sr.
Victor Tabbs Elizabeth City State TE Sr.
Carlo Thomas Johnson C. Smith DB Jr.
Osband Thompson Tuskegee LB Jr.
Lenard Tillery Southern RB Sr.
David Whipple Miles QB Sr.
Chad Williams Grambling State WR Sr.
Daniel Williams Jackson State WR Sr.

Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square