Google Custom Search

HAMPTON, Ga. — The Tigerettes of Tuskegee University defeated the Lady Rams of Albany State University, 11-7, to claim the 2014 SIAC Softball Championship today at Gerald Matthews Complex in Hampton, Georgia.

Tuskegee, the top seed from the Western Division, scored three runs in both the first and second innings to jump out to an early 6-0 lead. Both teams went scoreless in the third inning before Albany State would get on the board with a run in the top of the fourth, by way of a home run by third baseman Toni Coleman.Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Tuskegee would counter with a run of their own in the bottom of the fourth, before the Lady Rams would rally to score six runs on five hits, three of them being home runs, in the top of the fifth.

Tigerettes head coach Edward Colvin then turned to Latifah Kelly, the 2014 SIAC Starting Pitcher of the Year, to close the game. Kelly pitched the final 2.1 innings, striking out two, allowing one walk, one hit and one run en route to earning MVP honors and a spot on the All-tournament team.

Offensively, Tuskegee was led by third baseman Roslyn Thomas, who drove in four runs during the contest. Designated hitter Denavia Harrison (3 RBI's), shortstop Karisa Foye (2 RBI's) and outfielder Chante Warner (2 RBI's) each supplied multiple RBI's for the Tigerettes.

Albany State was led offensively by Coleman, who went 2-for-4 at the plate with two home runs. Coleman and catcher Chaconna Marks were the only Lady Rams to homer, with Marks also driving in two scores.

2014 SIAC Softball All-Tournament Team:
1. Latifah Kelly - Tuskegee University
2. Karisa Foye - Tuskegee University
3. Roslyn Thomas - Tuskegee University
4. Chaconna Marks - Albany State University
5. Chelsea Hicks - Albany State University
6. Toni Coleman - Albany State University
7. Markea Sheppard - Claflin University
8. Amanda Evans - Claflin University
9. Sabriya Brooks - Benedict College
10. Alia Williams - Clark Atlanta University

Tournament MVP: Latifah Kelly - Tuskegee University

Most Outstanding Coach: Edward Colvin - Tuskegee University

Third Place: Claflin University

Runner-Up: Albany State University


Please consider supporting our work.

Some news outlets have begun to limit access to their content (X number of articles per month, etc). Ad revenue isn't enough so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through PayPal below