Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second-round sites for the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.NCAA Men's Tennis

The South Carolina State Bulldogs will battle host seventh-ranked North Carolina in the opening round of the Tennis Championship held Saturday at Cone-Kenfield Tennis Center in Chapel Hill. Times will be announced at a later date.

The Bulldogs (10-7) currently earned their 7th consecutive and 12th overall Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) title and received the league's automatic bid to the NCAA field. The Tar Heels (24-5) of the ACC is currently ranked seventh nationally by the ITA.

The Southwestern Athletic Conference 2014 Men's Tennis Champions, Alcorn State, will face No. 8 Texas A&M University in the opening round of the Tournament.

First and second-round competition takes place May 9-11 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 16-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida
Atlantic 10 – George Washington
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – St. John’s
Big Sky – Montana
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Ohio State
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Cal Poly
Colonial – UNC-Wilmington
Conference USA – Tulsa
Horizon – Green Bay
Ivy – Columbia
MAAC – Marist
Mid-American – Ball State
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Drake
Mountain West – Boise State
Northeast – Bryant
Ohio Valley – Jacksonville State
Pacific-12- UCLA
Patriot – Army
SEC – Texas A&M
Southern – Elon
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Alcorn State
Summit – Denver
Sun Belt – Louisiana-Lafayette
West Coast – San Diego
WAC – Idaho


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square