Google Custom Search

ALEXANDRIA, La. – The Alabama State University men’s golf team captured its sixth straight Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) golf championship on Wednesday afternoon at the Oak Wing Golf Course.alst swac mgolf17A;abama State University
2017 SWAC Men's Golf Champions

“I’m proud of guys for coming through,” Alabama State head coach Dr. Gary Grandison, who was named the SWAC Co-Coach of the Year, said. “They played for our women’s program, who beat the nearest competitor by 35 shots, but due to technicalities fell short of their goal, so my guys played for them. Also this tournament is dedicated to Oddie Patterson , Sandy Osborn and Lorenza Patrick as people who were long time Hornets and supporters of our program.”

The victory didn’t come without a bit of controversy as the rules committee met for about a half hour before officially declaring Alabama State the 2017 SWAC men’s golf champions.

The Hornets shot a final-round 305 and won the championship by 13 strokes over Texas Southern. Alabama State finished the three-day tournament with an 891 to claim its sixth title. Texas Southern fired a 904 to take second, while Alcorn State finished third with a 911. Prairie View A&M (929), Jackson State (987) and Arkansas-Pine Bluff (928) rounded out the field.

Kirabo Reed, who was the leader after two rounds, was selected to the All-SWAC First Team and named the Low Medalist Freshman of the Year after carding a final-round five-over par 77 to finish second. He completed the tournament with a 218, which was one shot off the leader and Individual Medalist Daniel Racioppa of Alcorn State (217).

Quincy Stith, who earned All-SWAC First Team honors, finished third with a 221 (70-77-74), while Patricio Minondo was named to the All-SWAC Second Team and finished tied for fifth with a 225 (73-74-78).

Charles Griffin, Jr. was named to the All-SWAC Second Team after finishing eighth after a 227 (75-76-76). Mbongeni Maphosa, Jr., rounded out the individual scoring as he finished tied for 16th after a 237 (78-80-79).

Grandison and Danny Forshey of Alcorn State were named SWAC Co-Coaches of the Year.

The All-Conference team was also announced.  The complete team is below.

First Team All-Conference
Daniel Racioppa (Alcorn State)
Kirabo Reed (Alabama State)
Quincy Stith (Alabama State)
Tom McLaughlin (Texas Southern)
Renior Knox (Texas Southern)

Second Team All-Conference
Patricio Minondo (Alabama State)
Kyle Smith (Texas Southern)
Charles Griffin Jr. (Alabama State)
Spencer Rhodes (Alcorn State)
John Jones (Prairie View A&M)