Google Custom Search

ATLANTA – The Celebration Bowl will be televised live on ABC to open the 2018 bowl season for the fourth consecutive year. The postseason college football bowl game will kick off at noon ET, on Saturday, Dec. 15, from Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.celebration bowl logo

The Celebration Bowl features the conference champions from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) and Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC). The MEAC leads the series 2-1 with both wins coming from North Carolina A&T, whose last minute 21-14 win over Grambling State in 2017 capped the first unbeaten season in MEAC history. Grambling won the SWAC’s first title in 2016 with a thrilling 10-9 victory over North Carolina Central.

The average margin of victory in the event’s history has been just five points, making the Celebration Bowl one of the most exciting games of the bowl season. The event has also performed well with television viewers as one of the most watched pre-Christmas bowl games in each of its three years of existence.

“We are proud that once again the Celebration Bowl will kick off the college football bowl season on ABC in Atlanta, Georgia,” said John Grant, Celebration Bowl Executive Director. “We are pleased to feature the champions of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) verses the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) in this nationally televised championship game. Each of the past three years we have presented exciting games that went down to the wire in determining who would claim the coveted Celebration Bowl trophy.”

The Celebration Bowl is one of 14 bowl games owned and operated by ESPN Events.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square