Google Custom Search

WASHINGTON (April 16, 2019) – The Howard University (HU) football program will face 12 opponents this fall. The slate includes eight Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference foes and four non-conference opponents.hu newton unlv

Howard opens the season with Big Ten Conference opponent University of Maryland, on Saturday, Aug. 31 in College Park, Md. The Bison and the Terrapins last met on September 3, 2016, at Maryland, where the squad fell 52-13.

HU hits the road for the second road game of the season with a Saturday, Sept. 7 contest against Youngstown State University (YSU). YSU is a traditional FCS powerhouse with four national championships, marking the program with the third most titles in FCS history.

After a year-long intermission, Howard and Hampton will face off on the gridiron on Saturday, Sept. 14 in Chicago, Ill., for the 2019 Chicago Football Classic at Soldier Field.

Head Coach Ron Prince and the Bison football team will take a brief recess and open conference play beginning with Bethune-Cookman at Greene Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 28 in Washington, D.C. On that day, HU will celebrate breast cancer awareness, Howard organizations, and Greek-letter organizations.


The last non-conference game of the season will take place in Cambridge, Mass., against Harvard on Saturday, Oct. 5. Harvard is one of the oldest football programs in America commencing its program in 1873 and is noted as the 8th winningest team in college football history. The history between Howard and Harvard dates back to 1893 when the Crimson provided the Bison with their first football uniforms adorning the distinguishable "H".

The 2019 homecoming game will take place on Saturday, Oct. 12 against Norfolk State. The homecoming theme and schedule of events for the week will be disseminated at a later date. Howard Athletics will kick-off the week with Bison Madness on Monday, Oct. 7.

HU will travel to Delaware State (Dover, Del.) on Saturday, Oct. 19 followed by North Carolina A&T (Greensboro, N.C.) on Saturday, Oct. 26.

The Bison return to Greene Stadium to host North Carolina Central on Saturday, Nov. 2 for Military Appreciation Day.

Howard will head south for the two final road games. On Saturday, Nov. 9 HU takes on South Carolina State and concludes with Florida A&M on Saturday, Nov. 16.

HU wraps up the 2019 regular season with Morgan State on Saturday, Nov. 23. Prior to kick-off Prince will honor and celebrate members of the senior class.

 

0
0
0
s2smodern