Google Custom Search

ORMOND BEACH, Fla., May 11, 2019--Bethune-Cookman University won the 2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) softball championship at the Ormond Beach Sports Complex on Saturday after defeating rival Florida A&M 11-5 in the second game of the championship round.bcu meacsb19 champsBethune-Cookman University
2019 MEAC Softball Champions

The Lady Rattlers had forced the if-necessary game with a 1-0 win in the first contest.

B-CU (26-29) wins its second consecutive title and ninth overall. Laura Watten was named the tournament's Outstanding Coach, and Sasha Killings earned Outstanding Performer honors.

The first game saw Florida A&M's Kyaira Brown throw a complete-game shutout, coming within one out of throwing a no-hitter. The Lady Rattlers only had three hits in their own right.

FAMU got off to a quick start in the second game, taking a 1-0 lead in the first inning after an RBI single from Taylor Rosier. Rosier added an RBI double in the top of the third to put FAMU up 2-0, before Bethune-Cookman responded with a six-spot in the bottom of the frame.

Two of those runs came on throwing errors, and the Lady WIldcats saw RBI singles from Brianna Paysinger, Kaiya Epps-Lee and Kaira Cabato.

B-CU led 6-2 after three innings.

FAMU got another run in the top of the fourth, cutting the lead to 6-3, before Cheyenne Smith got that run back for B-CU with an RBI single in the bottom of the frame. The Lady Rattlers scored a run each in the third through sixth innings, but Bethune-Cookman's third and fifth innings were the difference.

In fact, the Lady Wildcats scored four times in the fifth.

Epps-Lee and Paysinger each had RBI singles again, and B-CU also scored on a double steal and another throwing error.

Epps-Lee and Paysinger were both 2-for-4 at the plate with two RBIs.

Alexis Bermudez, the MEAC Pitcher of the Year, threw five innings of relief in the second game, striking out three.

Outstanding Performer: Sasha Killings, Bethune-Cookman
Outstanding Coach: Laura Watten, Bethune-Cookman

All-Tournament Team
Alexis Bermudez, Bethune-Cookman
Sasha Killings, Bethune-Cookman
Cheyenne Smith, Bethune-Cookman
Brianna Baker, Delaware State
Kyara Brown, Florida A&M
Tyra Bowers, Florida A&M
?Kimiya Watkins,Florida A&M
Kalita Dennis, Howard
Jackie Jones, Howard
Kaylee Lopez, Norfolk State
Kiara Hurley, North Carolina Central


Please consider supporting our work.

Some news outlets have begun to limit access to their content (X number of articles per month, etc). Ad revenue isn't enough so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through PayPal below