Google Custom Search

LANDOVER, Md., February 14, 2015 – Hampton captured its fifth consecutive Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) indoor crown as the Lady Pirates won the 2015 MEAC Indoor Track and Field Championship on Saturday at the Prince George’s Sports and Learning Complex.

The Lady Pirates won their 12th overall MEAC indoor crown with a total of 112.5 points, while Bethune-Cookman finished second with 108.5 points. North Carolina A&T State placed third with 89 points.ham meac women itf15 champsHampton University
2015 MEAC Women's Indoor Track Champions

Judith Kibii of Florida A&M finished with 27 points to earn Outstanding Runner after winning the 5,000m, 3,000m and 1 mile.

Bethune-Cookman’s Deidra Jordan garnered Outstanding Field Athlete with 19 points after winning the high jump and long jump in the pentathlon.

Hampton head coach Maurice Pierce earned Outstanding Coach honors.

“This was by far the hardest championship we ever had to win,” Pierce said. “I knew it was going to come down to the mile relay but I didn’t know it was going to come that close.”

Hampton trailed Bethune-Cookman by three points going into the final event, the 4x400 relay. The Lady Pirates closed out the championship with a first-place finish in the event to secure the title.

1. Hampton 112.5 points
2. Bethune-Cookman 108.5 points
3. North Carolina A&T State 89 points
4. Florida A&M 84 points
5. Maryland Eastern Shore 64 points
6. Norfolk State 54 points
7. Morgan State 47 points
8. North Carolina Central 33.5 points
9. Coppin State 30 points
10. Howard 19 points
11. Delaware State 11 points
12. Savannah State 5.5 points
13. South Carolina State 5 points.

Click Here to View Final Results of the 2015 MEAC Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships

All-MEAC First Team

Judith Kibii, Florida A&M (5000m, 3000m); Darlene Girardeau, North Carolina Central (LJ); Deandra Daniel, Coppin State (HJ); Deidra Jordan, Bethune-Cookman (Pen.); Ce’aira Brown, Hampton (800m, 1 Mile, 4x400); Taniya Mitchell, Hampton (WT); Jheniel Kelly, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR); Shantol Hemley, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR); Rachel Halmon, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR), Barbora Blahutova, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR); Tiara Davis, Norfolk State (PV); Desiree Richardson, Bethune-Cookman (SP); Malekah Holland, Hampton (400m, 4x400); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (60mH); Tristie Johnson, Bethune-Cookman (60m); Ashley Ciacomucci, Florida A&M (TJ); Le’Quisha Parker, Hampton (200m, 4x400); Tanisha Greene, Hampton (4x400).

All-MEAC Second Team

Ishakeema Swain, Morgan State (5000m); Imani McGhee, North Carolina A&T State (LJ); Qizeah Jackson, North Carolina A&T State (HJ, 60m); Hanah Billups, Howard (Pen.); Jheniel Kelly, Maryland Eastern Shore (800m); Desiree Richardson, Bethune-Cookman (WT); QuanDra Shanks, Florida A&M (DMR); Jharna Alston, Florida A&M (DMR); Destiny Johnson, Florida A&M (DMR); Judith Kibii, Florida A&M (DMR); Jessica DeRoux, Bethune-Cookman (PV); Jess St. John, Morgan State (SP); Amber Brooks, North Carolina Central (1 Mile); Tanisha Greene, Hampton (400m); Summer Brown, Bethune-Cookman (60mH); Kaydianne McKenzie, Norfolk State (TJ); Tristie Johnson, Bethune-Cookman (200m); Amanda Delacruz, Hampton (3000m); Alexis Marsh, Coppin State (4x400); Melissa Caddle-Hope, Coppin State (4x400), Miriam Ekwuru, Coppin State (4x400); Tanaya Yarde, Coppin State (4x400).

All-MEAC Third Team

Barbora Blahutova, Maryland Eastern Shore (5000m); Deidra Jordan, Bethune-Cookman (LJ); Sherhae Holloway, North Carolina Central (HJ); Kasie Trigg, Bethune-Cookman (HJ); Reneazia Collins, North Carolina A&T State (Pen.); Tere Cooley, Morgan State (800m, DMR); Kiara Howell, Norfolk State (WT, SP); Karen Escobedo, Morgan State (DMR); April Steward, Morgan State (DMR); Ishakeema Swain, Morgan State (DMR); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (PV); Jheniel Kelly, Maryland Eastern Shore (1 Mile); Melissa Caddle-Hope, Coppin State (400m); Ashley Ivey, Florida A&M (60mH); India Brown, North Carolina A&T State (60m); Siobhan Ford-Holland, Hampton (TJ); Qizeah Jackson, North Carolina A&T State (200m); Nyajock Pan, Bethune-Cookman (3000m); Jasmine Smith, Florida A&M (4x400); Destiny Johnson, Florida A&M (4x400); Jharna Alston, Florida A&M (4x400); Raven Diggs, Florida A&M (4x400).


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square