Google Custom Search

Winston-Salem, NC – Saint Augustine’s University won the women’s title and shared the men’s crown with Virginia State University in the 2018 CIAA Indoor Track and Field Championships at the JDL Fast Track on Monday.ciaaitf18 logo

The Lady Falcons outpointed runner-up Winston-Salem State 162-154 in the women’s division for their third conference championship in six years and their first since 2014. Virginia State was third (77 points) followed by Johnson C. Smith (42.5), Bowie State (37), Livingstone (29.5), Virginia Union (22) and Lincoln (Pa.) (12).

The men’s title was the 21st straight for Saint Augustine’s and the first in recent memory for Virginia State. Both teams scored 175.5 points apiece to finish ahead of third-place finisher Virginia Union (88), Johnson C. Smith (56), Lincoln (Pa.) (30), Bowie State (25) and Livingstone (22). The Saint Augustine’s men’s and women’s teams won CIAA championships in the same meet for the first time since 2014.

Individually, Zakyrah Haynie of Winston-Salem State was named CIAA Women’s Track MVP and Magaly Tshipopo of Saint Augustine’s claimed CIAA Women’s Field MVP. Haynie was victorious in the one-mile run and helped the Rams place second in the 4,000-meter distance medley relay Sunday. On Monday, Haynie won the 800-meter run and finished third in the 3,000-meter run. Tshipopo claimed the long jump on Sunday and won the Pentathlon, high jump and triple jump Monday.

Shaquille Dill of Saint Augustine’s was the CIAA Men’s Track MVP after winning the one-mile run on Sunday and taking the 800-meter run Monday. He also helped the Falcons win the 4x400-meter relay Monday. Dajawn Williams of Virginia State earned CIAA Men’s Field MVP honors after winning the pole vault Sunday in addition to tying for third in the high jump and placing third in the Heptathlon Monday.

Williams helped Virginia State open a 52-point lead on the final day but the Falcons stormed back to take the lead late in the meet. However, the Trojans led by four points heading into the final event – the 4x400-meter relay. The Falcons, powered by Dill, won the relay and the Trojans finished third which tied the score.

Winston-Salem State entered Monday with a 38-32 lead over Saint Augustine’s, but the Lady Falcons, sparked by Tshipopo’s three victories, surged ahead early and never trailed again. The Lady Falcons clinched the title by winning the 4x400-meter relay in the last event.

The men’s winners on Monday included Alazae Hester-Taylor of Saint Augustine’s (Heptathlon), Timor Barrett of Johnson C. Smith (400 Dash), Jumonne Exeter of Saint Augustine’s (Triple Jump), Brandon Slade of Virginia State (Shot Put), Ed’Treon Wilcox of Virginia Union (60 Dash, 200 Dash), Dakarai Hightower of Saint Augustine’s (High Jump), Kyle Robinson of Johnson C. Smith (60 hurdles) and Tyreece Huff of Virginia State (5,000 Run). Saint Augustine’s winning 4x400-meter relay team consisted of Brandon Valentine-Parris, Justin Marsh, Dontarian Evans and Dill.

The women’s winners on Monday included Shannon Kalawan of Saint Augustine’s (400 Dash), Kayla Foy of Winston-Salem State (60 Dash), Shakera Hall of Saint Augustine’s (60 Hurdles), Jeia Gilliam of Virginia State (Shot Put), Qizeah Jackson of Winston-Salem State (200 Dash) and Imani Travis of Winston-Salem State (3,000-meter run). The foursome of Ade Hunter, Amanda Crawford, Merissa Gale and Kalawan made up Saint Augustine’s winning 4x400-meter relay squad.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square