Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Softball Committee has selected the 64 teams that will participate in the 2016 NCAA Division II Softball Championship. Four teams will participate at each of the 16 regional sites in double-elimination tournaments, held May 5-7.ncaa softball logo

CIAA Champion Winston-Salem State and SIAC Titelist Tuskegee made the field as automatic qualifiers.  WSSU picked up their eighth CIAA Championship in program history with a 5-4 win over Chowan University on Saturday afternoon. Tuskegee won their third straight SIAC title, Saturday, defeating Miles College 10-8.

WSSU (30-21), seeded eighth in the Atlantic Region, will open play Thursday, May 5 at 2:30pm ET when they face top-seeded West Virginia Wesleyan (50-8) in Buckhannon, WV.  This will be the first meeting between the two teams this season.

Tuskegee (24-29), the eighth seed in the South Region, faces top-seeded North Alabama (49-5) in the opening round game May 5 at 5:30pm ET in Florence, AL.  The two met earlier this season, in the Gulf Coast Invitational Tournament, with UNA winning that contest 8-0.

Regional winners will advance to the super regionals, slated for May 11-12. The finals will be held May 17- 21 at the Regency Athletic Complex Softball Field in Denver and will be hosted by Metropolitan State University of Denver and the Denver Sports Commission as part of the Division II National Championships Festival.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square