Google Custom Search

NORMAL, Ala. – The Texas Southern Tigers won the Southwestern Athletic Conference Men's Outdoor Track and Field Championships making a clean sweep of the SWAC's 2016 Track and Field Championships.  TSU won the Indoor Title earlier this season.swac logo125

For Clyde Duncan and his Flying Tigers Track and Field team it also marked the programs third title in two seasons. TSU's Duncan was subsequently named Men's Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year, an honor he's received for the third time in two seasons.

Travis Sanders of Texas Southern prevailed in the men's high jump, as he cleared 7-00.25 feet in the event (2.14m) in less tries than Grambling's David Parker to earn the gold. Parker was second, and coming in third place was Dyrez Ribero of Alabama State (2.10m).

Jawalyn Brooks (Texas Southern) earned the victory in the pole vault with a clearance of 4.80m. In second was Southern's Desmond Thomas with a height of 4.45m, and Texas Southern's Cassius King passed 4.25m to earn third.

D'Andre Lewis of Texas Southern ran a 3:58.91 in the 1500m run to win the gold, and Jackson State took the remaining two spots went to Jackson State. Raheem Skinner (4:01.63) was second, and James Curtis (4:04.85) was third.

Texas Southern swept the men's triple jump, with Tevin Kimble (15.09m) winning the event. Harvey Kendall Jr. finished second with a leap of 14.94m, and Ian Williams Jr. (14.87m) was third.

Jamael McTear (Grambling State) overtook Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Jerrel Wilson down the stretch to win the 400m dash. McTear won with a mark of 46.50, and Wilson was second with a time of 47.11. Texas Southern's Darius Birden (47.24) was third.

Final Standings
1. Texas Southern – 150.5
2. Jackson State – 106.50
3. Alabama State - 106
4. Southern - 102
5. Grambling State  - 89
6. Prairie View A&M - 80
7. Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 60
8. Alabama A&M – 55
9. Mississippi Valley - 48
10. Alcorn State - 12

All-SWAC First Team
Hassan Chepkwony (Grambling)
Lawrence Williams (Southern)
Reginald Redding (Southern)
Maurice Jones (Alabama A&M)
Drayton Rolle (Texas Southern)
Romello Nalepa (Mississippi Valley)
Travis Sanders (Texas Southern)
Tevin Kimble (Texas Southern)
Bentrell McGee (Jackson State)
Deshaun Allen (Jackson State)
D'Andre Lewis (Texas Southern)
Justin Cooper (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Malique Smith (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Jamael McTear (Grambling)
Jawalyn Brooks (Texas Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Juwan Parker (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)

All-SWAC Second Team
Aaron Albert (Mississippi Valley)
Miles Dortch (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Terrell Perry (Texas Southern)
O'Shane Shaw (Alabama State)
William Gordon (Alcorn State)
Harvey Kendall Jr. (Texas Southern)
Akil Bennett (Southern)
Aaron Austin (Prairie View)
David Parker (Grambling)
Samuel Omoera (Prairie View)
Logan Williams (Prairie View)
Bryont Brown (Alabama State)
Tylor Lighten (Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Shane Martin (Mississippi Valley)
Raheem Skinner (Jackson State)
Yanik Duffus (Southern)
Jaylin Thomas (Southern)
Darrell Nettles (Southern)
Desmond Thomas (Southern)
Darwin Allen (Prairie View)
Brandon Kirby (Prairie View)
William Polley (Prairie View)


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square