Google Custom Search

Charlotte, NC (  – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) held its annual Spring General Assembly Meeting and End-of-Year Awards Reception in Charlotte, NC on Monday evening. Athletics administration representatives from each of the CIAA's twelve member institutions joined members of the conference office for the recognition of more than twenty conference ciaa logo

The 2016 Loretta Taylor and the C.H. Williams All-Sports Awards were presented to Winston-Salem State University and Virginia State University, respectively. The awards are determined by a point system for achievement in all the institutions programs based on championship finish.

The Loretta Taylor All-Sports Award, granted to the top women's athletic program, was earned by Winston-Salem State after winning championship titles in women's cross country, volleyball, women's indoor track & field, and softball.  The Rams also finished third in outdoor track & field and fourth in tennis of the women's CIAA championship competitions.

On the men's side, Virginia State University was presented with their third consecutive C.H. Williams All-Sports Award after securing the CIAA Men's Basketball Championship.  The men's athletics program also recorded one runner-up finish with cross country and three third place finishes with indoor track & field, outdoor track & field, and tennis.

Tonia Walker of Winston-Salem State has been named CIAA Athletics Director of the Year by the AD Association. Walker, in her second full year at the helm of WSSU's athletics department, oversaw a 2015-16 year that brought the Rams five championship titles: football, volleyball, women's indoor track & field, women's cross country, and softball.  In addition to hosting the Indoor Track & Field Championship and a volleyball roundup with her staff, Walker serves on the Division II Athletic Directors Association's Board of Directors and is the President of the CIAA AD Association.

Natasha Wilson of Johnson C. Smith University has been named the Senior Woman Administrator, as voted by her peers. The designation of the highest ranking female in each NCAA athletic department or SWA is intended to encourage and promote the involvement of female administrators in meaningful ways in the decision-making process in intercollegiate athletics.

Allie Kolezynski, Chowan University's Assistant Athletic Director & Director of Athletic Communications, has been selected for her second Sports Information Director of the Year honor by the CIAA SID Association (SIDA). In addition to highlighting the Hawks' five championship titles (baseball, golf, men's tennis, women's tennis), she is recognized by her peers for the consistent positive coverage of Chowan's 18 varsity sports and dependability in providing meaningful communication with her sports information colleagues for each contest.  Kolezynski currently serves as the Vice President of CIAA-SIDA and is an active member of the Division II National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

2015-16 CIAA Coaches of the Year
Baseball – Kevin Ritche, Winston-Salem State
Bowling – Kim Miles-Hughey, Johnson C. Smith
Football – Damon Wilson, Bowie State
Golf – Mike Ordnung, Chowan
Men's Basketball – Lonnie Blow, Jr., Virginia State
Women's Basketball – AnnMarie Gilbert, Virginia Union
Men's Cross Country – Wilbert Johnson, Virginia Union
Women's Cross Country – Inez Turner, Winston-Salem State
Men's Indoor Track & Field – Wilbert Johnson, Virginia Union
Women's Indoor Track & Field – Inez Turner, Winston-Salem State
Men's Outdoor Track & Field – George Williams, Saint Augustine's
Women's Outdoor Track & Field – Lennox Graham, Johnson C. Smith
Men's Tennis – Chris Stambaugh, Chowan
Women's Tennis – Sunday Enitan, Shaw
Softball – Brian De Witt, Chowan
Volleyball – DiShondra Goree, Shaw

Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square