Google Custom Search

The Black College Sports Information Directors Association (BC-SIDA) unveiled a new leadership structure at its annual meeting in Orlando.  Held in conjunction with the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) annual conference, BC-SIDA members received and approved a steering committee report following discussions which began last year at its annual meeting in Dallas.BC SIDA2017 webBC-SIDA Attendees at Annual Meeting in Orlando
Photo Credit: Jeff Hodges-CoSIDA

The steering committee submitted a new leadership structure based on regions as a way of involving more members and creating a closer relationship between members in a particular region.

Under the leadership of Kenisha Rhone (Belmont University) who will continue to serve as chair of the organization’s steering committee, the approved structure will utilize committees to take on the responsibility of managing specific areas important to the organization.

The Steering Committee will consist of the Lead Chair, Regional Chairs, Regional Co-Chairs and Junior Chair members elected in addition to the organization’s Executive Director. 

Each region shall have at minimum two (2) elected co-chairs and up to two (2) junior chair members. Depending on the diversity of each region during any given term cycle, regions may be redrawn to more accurately reflect actual BC-SIDA membership.  Regional Chairs, Co-Chairs and Junior Chairs may be employed at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, commonly known as HBCUs, non-HBCUs, athletic conference offices and/or the NCAA.

The duties for Chair(s)/Co-Chair(s) are generally not fixed so as to best meet the needs of his/her specific region.  The Chairs and Co-Chairs will serve as a resource for members of their specific regions becoming a conduit to relay pertinent information, problems, and concerns to and from the Steering Committee.

The Junior Chair position was created with the younger professional in mind, as well as those professionals who have not been as involved in leadership nationally who have expressed a desire to be involved in BC-SIDA and/or CoSIDA leadership.

BC-SIDA Leadership Structure

Lead Chair: Kenisha Rhone (Belmont), Co-Chair: TBD,  Executive Director: Eric Moore (Onnidan Group)

Region 1 (East): Chair: Lamar Carter (LIU Brooklyn), Co-Chair:Derek Bryant (Maryland Eastern Shore), Junior Chair: Ajah Hawley-Alexander (Hartwick)

Region 2 (South): Chair: Damian Alexander (Florida Memorial), Co-Chair Habtom Keleta (Dillard), Junior Chair: Janay Roberson (Alabama A&M)

Region 3 (Midwest): Chair: Ameer Rasheed (Wilmington), Co-Chair: Sahar Abdur-Rashid (NCAA), Junior Chair: Nick Novy, (Central State)

Region 4 (West): Chair: Denise Thompson (Northern Arizona/Big Sky Conf), Co-Chair: Jeremiah Smith (UC Riverside),  Junior Chair: TBD
Tech Chair: Travis Jerome (Alabama State), Co-Chair Nick Novy (Central State)