Google Custom Search

Salem, VA - The Fayetteville State Unicersity women captured their second consecutive Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Cross Country Championship while Virginia State University captured their second consecutive Men’s title Thursday afternoon at Green Hill Park in Salem, Virginia.

ciaawxcc182018 CIAA Women's Cross Country Champions
Fayetteville State University
ciaamxcc182018 CIAA Men's Cross Country Champions
Virginia State University

The Broncos placed three women in the top ten overall as they captured the title with 70 points, defeating St. Augustine’s (92) and Bowie State (98). The remaining order of finish included Virginia State (115), Winston-Salem State (137), Lincoln (142), Livingstone (151), Virginia Union (195), Shaw (206), Chowan (241), Claflin (257), Elizabeth City State (304), and Johnson C. Smith (324)

Fayetteville State Head Coach Inez Turner was named the 2018 CIAA Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year, marking the second consecutive year she has earned the honor.

On the men’s side, the Trojans placed their first five runners in the top 15 overall as they cruised to victory with 56 points. St. Augustine’s was second with (86) points. Virginia Union placed third with 103 points. The remaining order of finish included Lincoln (119); Bowie State (160); Livingstone (166); Claflin (189); Shaw (194); Fayetteville State (199); Elizabeth City State (214); Chowan (234); Johnson C. Smith (294); and Winston Salem State (332).

Virginia State Head Coach Wilbert Johnson was named the 2018 CIAA Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year, marking the second consecutive year he has earned the honor.

Fayetteville State junior Nelly Kandie captured her first CIAA Championship, jumping out in front of the pack. She completed the 5,000-meter course in 19:27.2. Virginia State sophomore Kyla Frank was second with a time of 20:12.7 and Nazirah Purnell, a sophomore from Lincoln was third with a time of 20:14.4

The All-CIAA Team includes Kandie, Frank and Purnell in addition to Amanda Crawford (SAU); Sarah Adam (VUU); Aleena Cruz (FSU); Angel Well (LC); Florence Fields (SAU); Tamia McLean (WSSU); Destiny Stevons (FSU); Clonne Gourrier (BSU); Kaydi Ann Wint (SU); Asia Green (LU); Lela Knight (CU); and Zuwena Johnson (BSU).

Freshman Baron Freeman cruised to victory in his first CIAA Cross Country Championship event, outdistancing runner-up Tyreece Huff of Virginia State by 44 seconds, completing the 8,000-meter course in 25:52.6. Huff finished in 26:36.5. Third place went to Mike Lagat of Shaw University with a time of 27:12.6.

The All-CIAA team includes Freeman, Huff and Lagat in addition to Torotich Kiplagat (SU); Enos Rotich (VUU); Anthony Wimbush (VUU); Dominic Samuel (CLAF); Kyuande Johnson (LU); Charles Whitelead-Tillery (VUU); Robert Edwards Jr. (SAU); Charles Pumbu (FSU); Steven Murdock (VSU); Nickolas Stackfield (VSU); Tyron Evans (VSU); and Louis Andrews (VSU)

Kandie and Freeman were named the CIAA Women’s and Men’s Cross Country Athletes of the Year based on their regular season performances, voted by the 2018 CIAA Cross Country Coaches Association.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square