Google Custom Search

SALEM, VA - In a close finish, Virginia Union University edged defending CIAA champion Virginia State University to capture the 2019 CIAA Men’s cross country championship.

Fayetteville State University captured its third consecutive CIAA Women’s Cross Country Championship title.

FSU CIAA Womens XC Champs
Fayetteville State University
2019 CIAA Women's Cross Country Champions
VUU CIAA Mens XC Champs
Virginia Union University
2019 CIAA Men's Cross Country Champions

Both championships were held at Green Hill Park in Salem, Virginia.

The Panthers placed four runners in the top 15 overall as they captured the team title with 52 points. Virginia State finished with 59 points and three runners in the top 15. St. Augustine’s followed in third place with 90 points. The remaining order of finish included Lincoln (111), Shaw (130), Bowie State (170), Claflin (189), Livingstone (194), Fayetteville State (196), Winston-Salem State (210) and Johnson C. Smith (320).

The Broncos placed all five scorers among the top 15 runners to cruise to the women's title with 35 points. Virginia State University was second with 66 points and three finishers within the top 15. Winston-Salem State University was third with 88 points. The remaining order of finish was as follows: Shaw (110); Lincoln (117); Livingstone (159); St. Augustine’s (158); Bowie state (224); Virginia union (231); Elizabeth city State (258); Johnson c. Smith (286); and Claflin (287).

Virginia Union Head Coach Melissa Ferry was named the 2019 CIAA Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year while Micah Kipruto of Virginia Union was tabbed as the CIAA Men’s Cross Country Athlete of the Year in voting done by the league coaches and sports information directors.

VUU's Kipruto cruised to victory in his first CIAA Cross Country Championship event, outdistancing defending champion Baron Freeman of St. Augustine’s to complete the 8,000-meter course in 25.20.3. Freeman was second with a time of 25:33.6 while Tyreese Huff of Virginia State was third with a time of 26:25.4.

Virginia State University’s Kyla Frank captured the women's individual championship.

Fayetteville State head coach Inez Turner was named the 2019 CIAA Women’s Coach of the Year. Broncos runner Mercy Chemutai was named CIAA women’s Cross Country Female Athlete of the Year in voting done by the league coaches and sports information directors.

Frank and last year’s champion Nelly Kandie of Fayetteville State raced head-to-head until the final mile when Frank began to pull away opening up a 16-second gap en route to winning the race. Frank completed the 5,000-meter course in 20:16.7 with Kandie finishing second with a time of 20:32.5. Chemutai was third with a time of 20:36.1.

The all-CIAA men's team includes Kipruto, Freeman and Huff in addition to Peter Ekayi (SU); Enos Rotich (VUU); Dominic Samuel (CLAF); Fredrick Eiland (BSU); Kyuande Johnson (LU); Nickolas Stackfield (VSU), Charles Whitehead-Tillery (VUU); Bethwel Cheruiyot (SAU), Anthony Wimbash (VUU) and Torotich Kiplagat (SU).

The all-CIAA women's team includes Frank, Kandie and Chemutai along with Nazirah Purnell (LU); Tamia Mclean (WSSU); Kaydi Ann Wint (SU); Aleeena Cruz (FSU); Sierra Beasley (FSU); Jordan Burzynski (VSU); Alandina Hyppolite(VSU); Hannah Pealstrom (SU); Amber Glenn (LU); Gabrielle Glasco (LC); Luisa Curry (SU) and Charisma McKoy (FSU)


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square