Google Custom Search

SALEM, VA – The south’s no. 1 seed Fayetteville State University defeated the No. 2 seed from the south Shaw University, 3-0 (25-19, 25-23, 25-22), to win the 2019 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Volleyball Championship on Sunday at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Virginia.FSU CIAAVB19 champsFayetteville State University
2019 CIAA Volleyball Champions

The Broncos (19-6) were led in the championship match by All-CIAA selections Casandra Watson, who led all players with 11 kills, and Da’Nesha Miller with seven kills and 10 assists to win their first conference title since 2013. Watson and Miller were named to the All-Tournament team for their efforts.

FSU’s Nakia McKinnie also contributed 10 assists while defensive specialist Jasmine Jacinto totaled a match-high 12 digs.

Defending champion Shaw got a match-high 19 assists and four digs from CIAA Setter of the Year Jada Flowers along with nine kills from Karla Sosa and seven kills from Amari Fletcher. Flowers, who led the tournament with 91 assists, was also named to the All-Tournament team.

The Lady Bears, who made their fifth-consecutive appearance in the CIAA championship match, finish the season with a 17-10 record.

Joining Watson, Miller, and Flowers on the All-Tournament team were Virginia State’s Jailyn Ivey and Jodorrian Taylor, Virginia Union’s A’rmaria Wright, Winston Salem’s Ytae Cobb, Shaw’s Jailynn Butler, and Fayetteville State’s Jessica Williams.

Miller delivered an all-around performance throughout the tournament for the Broncos with 23 kills, 34 assists, 14 digs, and nine total blocks in three matches. The junior from Hilton Head Island, SC was named the Food Lion Tournament Most Valuable Player, as voted on by the tournament committee and head coaches.

Fayetteville State receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Division II Atlantic Regional tournament, which will take place December 5-8 at a location yet to be determined. The Broncos will learn their opponent and seed when the 64-team field is announced during the NCAA Division II Selection Show, which is set to air Monday, Nov. 25 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

2019 CIAA Volleyball All-Tournament Team
A’rmaria Wright, Virginia Union
Ytae Cobb, Winston-Salem State
Jailyn Ivey, Virginia State
Jodorrian Taylor, Virginia State
Jailynn Butler, Shaw
Jada Flowers, Shaw
Jessica Williams, Fayetteville State
Casandra Watson, Fayetteville State
Da’Nesha Miller, Fayetteville State – Food Lion Tournament MVP


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square