Google Custom Search

BOSTON, MA -- has announced the finalists for the 2016 Ben Jobe award. The 2016 recipient will be announced on Monday April 4 in Houston, site of the men's NCAA division I men's basketball championship.  ben jobe award

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. An icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Jobe is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons.
His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

Maryland Eastern Shore's Bobby Collins won the award last year.


Roman Banks, Southern
Rod Barnes, CSU Bakersfield
Wayne Brent, Jackson State
Ed Cooley, Providence
Mike Davis, Texas Southern
Dana Ford, Tennessee State
Murray Garvin, South Carolina State
Avery Johnson, Alabama
James Jones, Yale
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Edward Joyner, Jr. Hampton
Kevin Keatts, UNCW
Bashir Mason, Wagner
Mark Montgomery, Northern Illinois
King Rice, Monmouth
Montez Robinson, Alcorn State
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Shaka Smart, Texas
Tubby Smith, Texas Tech
Rodney Terry, Fresno State
Willis Wilson, Texas A&M Corpus Christi


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square