Google Custom Search

As the women’s basketball season culminates with the playing of the national championship game on Tuesday in Indianapolis, BOXTOROW releases its annual All-America teams.box2row logo

For the second year in a row Hampton guard Malia Tate-DeFreitas was named BOXTOROW Division I women’s national Player of the Year.

Tate-DeFreitas was selected as the MEAC Player of the year also for the second-straight year after leading the conference in scoring (21.4), finishing second in steals (2.6) and averaging 7.2 rebounds per game.  She scored 30 or more points in five games this year and recorded a triple-double against Bethune-Cookman on January 9, scoring13 points, grabbing 11 rebounds and handing out 11 assists.

Alabama State head coach Freeda Freeman-Jackson was tabbed BOXTOROW Coach of the Year.  In her 18th season at the helm of the Lady Hornets program, she led ASU to its second-straight SWAC Tournament championship and NCAA Tournament appearance.  After starting the conference season 0-2, the Lady Hornets reeled off 10-straight conference wins.  ASU shared the regular season conference title with Texas Southern and Southern, but was 4-1 combined against TSU and SU including defeating SU 55-51 in the SWAC championship game.

First Team All-Americans
Victoria Gonzales, Howard (F, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)
Norianna Haynes, Alcorn State (F, Sr., Meridian, Miss.)
Malia Tate-DeFreitas, Hampton (G, Jr., Harrisburg, Pa.)
Keiana Vines, Texas Southern (C, Sr., Oxnard, Calif.)
Kailyn Williams, Bethune-Cookman (C, r-Jr., New Orleans, La.)
Britney Wright, Alabama State (F, Jr., Detroit,, Mich.)
Khadejra Young, Florida A&M (G, Sr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)

Second Team All-Americans
Kendra Cooper, Bethune-Cookman (G, Jr., Spring, Texas)
Shakyla Hill, Grambling State (G, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.)
Jayda Johnson, Tennessee State (F, Jr., Knoxville, Tenn.)
Aprill McRae, North Carolina A&T (C, Gr., Raleigh, N.C.)
Brianna Sidney, Texas Southern (G, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Moengaroa Subritzky, Maryland Eastern-Shore (G/F, r-Soph., Auckland, New Zealand)
Britney Washington, Southern (G, Sr., St. Francisville, La.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Malia Tate-DeFreitas, Hampton
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Freda Freeman-Jackson, Alabama State


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square