Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams that will compete in the 2019 NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship.2019 ncaa bkb logo

CIAA Champion Virginia Union and SIAC Titelist Lane College will be joined by Bowie State University in the field

Twenty-four conferences were awarded automatic qualification. The remaining 40 teams were selected at large by the committee.

Seven eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites March 15, 16 and 18. The South Central region will have two four-team sites as a result of a split regional with men’s basketball. Games will be played March 15, 16 and 19, with the championship game played at the site of highest remaining seed. The 2019 NCAA Division II Women’s Elite Eight will be held at Alumni Hall in Columbus, Ohio, March 26, 27 and 29. Ohio Dominican University and the Greater Columbus Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

Virginia Union, seeded #2 in the Atlantic Region will open its quest against #7 Edinboro. Bowie State will square off against No. 3 Indiana (Pa.) in the opening round. The Atlantic Region tournament will be hosted by top seed Glenville (W.Va.) State with the first round set to get underway Friday, March 15.

Lane College will meet top seeded Florida Southern in the opening round of the South Region tournament at Streamline Sale Arena at Jenkins Field House in Lakeland.

 All four first round games will be played on Friday, March 15, with the semifinals the following evening on March 16. The Atlantic Region Championship will be played on Monday, March 18, with the winner advancing to the Elite 8 in Columbus, Ohio.

Conferences that received automatic qualification are as follows:

California Collegiate Athletic Association UC San Diego
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Thomas Jefferson University
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Virginia Union
Conference Carolinas Emmanuel (Georgia)
East Coast Conference New York Institute of Technology
Great American Conference Southwestern Oklahoma State
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Ashland
Great Lakes Valley Conference Drury
Great Midwest Athletic Conference Walsh
Great Northwest Athletic Conference Northwest Nazarene
Gulf South Conference Lubbock Christian
Lone Star Conference West Texas A&M
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Fort Hays
Mountain East Conference Glenville State
Northeast-10 Conference Le Moyne
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Minnesota Duluth
Pacific West Conference Hawaii Pacific
Peach Belt Conference North Georgia
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Indiana (Pennsylvania)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Colorado Mesa
South Atlantic Conference Anderson (South Carolina)
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Lane
Sunshine State Conference Florida Southern

Please consider supporting our work.

Some news outlets have begun to limit access to their content (X number of articles per month, etc). Ad revenue isn't enough so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through PayPal below