Google Custom Search

Basketball teams from Alabama State and Tennessee State have been selected to compete in the 2015 Preseason Women's National Invitational Tournament.WNITlogoblue

The 16 team WNIT field, announced on Tuesday, consists of Alabama State (SWAC); Baylor (Big 12); Chattanooga (Southern); Dartmouth (Ivy); DePaul (Big East); Drexel (Colonial); Indiana (Big Ten); Jacksonville (Atlantic Sun); McNeese State (Southland); Siena (Metro Atlantic); South Florida (American); Southern Illinois (MVC); Southern Miss (Conference USA); St. Bonaventure (Atlantic 10); Tennessee State (Ohio Valley); and UT Arlington (Sun Belt).

Ten of the 16 teams advanced to postseason play in 2015. This is the Preseason WNIT debut for Alabama State, Jacksonville, Southern Miss, St. Bonaventure, Tennessee State and UT Arlington.

Teams making their first return to the event are Dartmouth (2006), DePaul (2010), Siena (2002), South Florida (2004) and Southern Illinois (1997). Others with multiple appearances are Drexel (2011, 2005), Indiana (2008, 1998), McNeese State (2011, 2004), Baylor (2011, 2006, 1998) and Chattanooga (2011, 2005, 2000). The No.-1 ranked Baylor Lady Bears won the 2011 Preseason championship after defeating No. 2 Notre Dame 94-81 in front of a sold-out home crowd. Baylor went on that season to capture the NCAA Tournament Championship and finish with a 40-0 record.

The event is formatted to guarantee three games for each team.

The tournament opens Nov. 13 with Round One. Round Two will be played Nov. 15-17; semifinals will be Nov. 19; and the championship is set for Sunday, Nov. 22. The championship game will be nationally televised live on CBS Sports Network.

Teams that lose in the first two rounds will play consolation games on Nov. 20-21. All games are hosted by participating schools. The official tournament bracket with first-round opponents, game dates, and times will be announced later this month.

About the WNIT

The Preseason WNIT began in its modern form in 1994. Since its inception, over 200 teams representing all 32 conferences have competed in the tournament. The UConn Huskies have won the championship a record three times. It is organized and produced by Triple Crown Sports, a national sports event company based in Fort Collins, Colo. For more information on the WNIT visit:


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square