Google Custom Search


North Carolina Central guard Jeremy Ingram headlines the 6th annual Boxtorow Division I All-American team.

Ingram was named the Boxtorow Division I National Player of the Year.box2row logo

Ingram was also named MEAC Player of the Year last month after leading the Eagles to the MEAC regular season and tournament championships. He finished second in the conference in scoring (20.8) and fourth in steals (1.6). He scored 29 points in the Eagles victory over Morgan State in the MEAC Tournament and had a 28-point effort against Iowa State in the NCAA Tournament. Ingram was Boxtorow All-American second team last year.

Joining Williams in the backcourt is Justin Black of Morgan State who finished third in the MEAC in scoring (18.9) and scored 20 or more points in 15 games.

Making up the All-American frontcourt is Ian Chiles of Morgan State, Du’Vaughn Maxwell of Hampton, and Aaric Murray of Texas Southern.

Chiles was one of two players in the MEAC to finish in the top 10 in scoring (15.6), rebounding (6.5), field goal percentage (.549) and blocked shots (3.0). Maxwell was the other player to finish in the top 10 in all four categories averaging 14.9 points, 7.3 rebounds, shooting 51 percent from the field and averaging three blocks per game.

Murray was named the SWAC Player and Defensive Player of the Year. He helped Texas Southern to the SWAC tournament title and an NCAA Tournament bid. The Tigers were the highest scoring team in the SWAC and Murray led the SWAC in scoring (21.6). He also led the conference in blocked shots (2.5), was third in rebounding (7.5), and ninth in field goal percentage (.491).

North Carolina Central head coach LeVelle Moton was named Boxtorow Coach of the Year. Moton led NCCU to a 28-6 record and its first NCAA Division I Tournament appearance. He guided the Eagles to a historic season which included the MEAC regular season and tournament championship and a win over N.C. State.

2013-14 Boxtorow Division I All-American Team
First Team
Justin Black, Morgan State (G, 6-2, Sr., St. Louis, Mo.)
Ian Chiles, Morgan State (C, 7-2, Sr., Cliffside Park, N.J.)
Jeremy Ingram, North Carolina Central (G, 6-3, Jr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Du’Vaughn Maxwell, Hampton (F, 6-7, Sr., Manhattan, N.Y.)
Aaric Murray, Texas Southern (F, 6-10, Gr., Philadelphia, PA)
Second Team
Emanuel Chapman, North Carolina Central (G, 6-1, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.)
Calvin Godfrey, Southern (F, 6-9, Jr., Milwaukee, Wis.)
*Malcolm Miller, Southern (G, 6-6, Jr., Midland, Texas)
Patrick Miller, Tennessee State (G, 6-1, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
*Jamel Walters, Alabama State (G, 5-9, Soph., Birmingham, Ala.)
Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State (G, 6-6, Sr., Philadelphia, Pa.)
Third Team
Jamie Adams, Florida A&M (G, 5-10, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
James Daniel, Howard (G, 5-11, Fr., Hampton, Va.)
Malcolm Hawkins, Norfolk State (F, 6-5, Sr., Norfolk, Va.)
LaAntwan Luckett, Alcorn State (F, 6-4, Soph., Ridgeland, Miss.)
Antwan Scott, Grambling (G, 6-1, Jr., Dallas, Tex.)
Brandon West, Jackson State (C, 6-10, Gr., Cheneyville, La.)
Player of the Year: Jeremy Ingram, North Carolina Central
Coach of the Year: LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central
*Indicates tie



Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses.. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square