Google Custom Search

Three players and one coach from HBCUs have been announced selected for induction into the class of 2017 for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame.small coll bkb hof

Prairie View's Zelmo Beaty, Southern's Bob Love, Kentucky State's Elmore Smith and former Virginia Union Coach Dave Robbins head a group of 12 new inductees.

This is the second year of induction.

The 2016 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana. The event began with the induction of 15 inaugural Hall of Famer's including, Dr. James Naismith, Dick Barnett, Bevo Francis, John Ebeling, Clarence Gaines, Travis Grant, Bob Hopkins, Lucious Jackson, Phil Jackson, Arad McCutchan, John McLendon, Earl Monroe, Willis Reed, John Rinka and Jerry Sloan.

This year's ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 6:30 p.m. at the Doubletree by Hilton in Evansville, Indiana.

"It is an absolute thrill to announce the Class of 2017 for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame,” said SCB Founder, John McCarthy. “This class represents the best of the best in the history of small college basketball, and it is with great pleasure that we announce this class.

The Small College Basketball Class of 2017 consists of the following members:

Zelmo Beaty, Player, Prairie View A&M
Walt Frazier, Player, Southern Illinois
Emil Liston, Contributor, Baker University
Bob Love, Player, Southern
Coach Don Meyer, Coach, Hamline, David Lipscomb and Northern State
Coach Dave Robbins, Coach, Virginia Union
Jack Sikma, Player, Illinois Wesleyan
Elmore Smith, Player, Kentucky State
Jim Spivey, Player, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Rico Swanson, Player, Bethel (IN)
George Tinsley, Player, Kentucky Wesleyan
Al Tucker, Player, Oklahoma Baptist


Please consider supporting our work.

Some news outlets have begun to limit access to their content (X number of articles per month, etc). Ad revenue isn't enough so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through PayPal below