Google Custom Search

BALTIMORE, Md.-The Morgan State University women's basketball team has been added to the 16-team field of the 2018 Preseason Women's National Invitational Tournament (WNIT). The field was announced Tuesday morning by Triple Crown Sports.WNITlogoblue

This will be the first time the Lady Bears' program will participate in the preseason tournament. Morgan State is also the only Historically Black College and University (HBCU) in this year's field.

This will be the 25th edition of the Preseason WNIT; the November event features a three-game guarantee for all teams, with first-round matchups and the bracket to be announced later this spring. All games are hosted by participating schools, with the championship game televised on CBS Sports Network.

In 2011, Morgan State made history when it advanced to the WNIT Postseason Tournament, where it faced host Virginia in the first round. It was the program's first and is still the only Division I postseason appearance in school history.

"The preseason WNIT is always prestigious in the fact that you will get tested very early against the teams your university tends to play," said Morgan State head coach Ed Davis. "And it kind of tests where you are in terms of that level of competition. We're going to do our best to compete. We will be a totally different team with the graduation of all the seniors, but hopefully we can meet the challenge."

This year's 16-team field represents 15 conferences with both Nicholls and Stephen F. Austin playing in the Southland Conference.

The field features 10 teams that won 19-plus games, nine teams that advanced to postseason play and a national champion during the 2017-18 season.

Since its creation in 1994, as a preseason counterpart to the then National Women's Invitational Tournament the MEAC has been represented six previous times. Morgan State becomes the fifth MEAC school to be invited, joining two-time participants, Hampton (2005, 2010) and North Carolina A&T (2009, 2013), along with Delaware State (2007) and Howard (2011).