Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division II Football Committee has announced the field of 28 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division II Football Championship.

Virginia State University (10-0) ranked #2 in Super Region Two joins #4 Bowie State University (9-1) as the two HBCUs to get playoff berths.ncaa d2fb logo

The VSU Trojans will host #7 West Georgia (8-3) and the BSU Bulldogs will host their first-ever home football playoff game when they face Delta State (8-3) next Saturday (Nov 18).

“We’re really excited about the opportunity, even more excited to host and look forward to a very challenging and tough Delta State team”, said an ecstatic Bowie State head coach Damon Wilson.

The Trojans will be making their second playoff appearance in program history. Their first appearance was in 2014 when they hosted and defeated LIU Post, 28-17, before going on the road and losing to Bloomsburg, 35-14.

Bowie State last appeared in NCAA regional play in 2015, falling on the road to Assumption by a score of 51-29.

The top seed West Alabama (10-0) will have a first-round bye. #4 Wingate (9-1) will host West Florida (7-3) in the other Super Region first round matchup.

Complete bracket