Google Custom Search

ncat brandon parkerParkerThe Walter Payton Award is given annually to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) college football as chosen by a nationwide panel of media and college sports information directors. Named for an HBCU standout who starred at Jackson State University in the early 1970s, the honor was first given 31 years ago in 1987 to the outstanding player in the division, but in 1995, eligibility was restricted to offensive players, as the Buck Buchanan Award for defensive players was inaugurated.

North Carolina A&T had two players finish in the top 25, led by offensive tackle Brandon Parker (10th) and quarterback Lamar Raynard (tied for 14th). The two Aggies were joined by Grambling State quarterback DeVante Kincade (21st).

Parker was the only offensive lineman selected for the award.


The 2017 award was given to San Houston State quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe,


The full voting results:
1. Jeremiah Briscoe, QB, Sam Houston State: 40-19-16-15-6-360
2. Chris Streveler, QB, South Dakota: 36-16-8-5-12-290
3. Keelan Doss, WR, UC Davis: 10-11-14-19-15-189
4. Devlin Hodges, QB, Samford: 5-16-20-11-8-179
5. Kyle Lauletta, QB, Richmond: 14-5-10-19-8-166
6. Taryn Christion, QB, South Dakota State: 6-12-7-10-7-126
7. Dominick Bragalone, RB, Lehigh: 3-9-9-8-13-116
8. Bryan Schor, QB, James Madison: 7-6-8-8-7-106
9. Hayden Hildebrand, QB, Central Arkansas: 8-6-4-6-5-93
10. Brandon Parker, OT, North Carolina A&T: 5-9-7-1-8-92
11. Josh Mack, RB, Maine: 0-7-8-6-8-72
12. Dallas Goedert, TE, South Dakota State: 3-5-4-3-4-57
13. Gage Gubrud, QB, Eastern Washington: 1-4-4-8-6-55
14. (Tie) Lamar Raynard, QB, North Carolina A&T: 5-2-2-2-3-46
14. (Tie) Roc Thomas, RB, Jacksonville State: 1-3-8-2-1-46
16. Anthony Lawrence, QB, San Diego: 0-5-3-3-10-45
17. Chad Kanoff, QB, Princeton: 0-3-2-9-7-43
18. Chandler Burks, QB, Kennesaw State: 2-2-3-3-6-39
19. Case Cookus, QB, Northern Arizona: 1-3-5-1-4-38
20. Justin Watson, WR, Penn: 2-1-0-5-3-27
21. DeVante Kincade, QB, Grambling State: 2-2-0-2-2-24
22. (Tie) Neil O'Connor, WR, New Hampshire: 0-2-2-1-2-18
22. (Tie) Troy Pelletier, WR, Lehigh: 0-2-1-2-3-18
24. Detrez Newsome, RB, Western Carolina: 0-1-2-2-2-16
25. Tommy Stuart, QB, Duquesne: 0-0-1-0-1-4

A first-place vote was worth five points, a second-place vote four points, a third-place vote three points, a fourth-place vote two points and a fifth-place vote one point.

Past winners include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp.